Take 2


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
September 11th 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 6.32, 99.85

I returned to Langkawi with Emma but once again the ferry crossing was terrible and although this time we were in the catamarang which I found much better, poor Emma was sick the whole way but she wasn't alone! The projectile vomit was all around and the smell... horrendous. Thankfully the closer we got to the island the sickness seemed to stop and I think everyone breathed a sigh of relief on our departure...

On our return we checked into Cenang Rest House however they don't have rooms available our whole stay so we moved to the Rainbow Lodge which was far better option and worked out cheaper too. I'm really glad I returned with Emma, Langkawi is a beautiful place and I enjoyed all the people I met previously, I love the beach here and popping into the sea for a swim just tops it all off, the color of the water is stunning... so inviting and the temperature in the sea is bliss. So I get to show Emma around and take her to all my favorite places for the week she is here and we had a fab time.

Although it's easy to just hit the beach everyday, we did a fair few miles too... I hired a motorbike and we set off round the island although the weather ended up terrible at one point! Emma was wanting to see the Datai Hotel which is a really posh number and actually is probably the nicest hotel I've been in... definatly the nicest loo's. The weather really turned as we approached and we were drenched and freezing on arrival so much so we ordered hot chocolate to heat us up on arrival. It really is a stunning setting with a beautiful beach, we were extremely luck and one of the staff took us from the main dining area down to the beach in a 'golf' type buggy. The bungalows on the way down look lovely and all set in a jungle setting which just adds to it, Thai Islands are the backdrop to the beach which is lovely and we have the place to ourselves... beautiful.

Next stop is the Four Seasons Hotel and my favorite beach, Tanjung Rhu... once again beautiful place (normally I would never have the courage to even walk into these places but Emma shows me the way).
Tom Yam SoupTom Yam SoupTom Yam Soup

On the beach
We have other days out too and I loved the Island Hopping and our visit to the Lady of the Lake, Beresday Island, Waterfalls and much much more.

We became firm friends with Robert and Danny and the four of us spend time hanging out everyday which is fun... the boys are a great laugh and we all get on like a house on fire! They meet for their chess game everyday followed by a few beers and we normally join them later in the day which is ideal and we always have great banter. Danny and I head in swimming a few times which is fun and probably the start of things, well he is 'lovely'! Rafii's Bar is fun and I end up meeting fellow Glaswegian Lesley and her husband Tim, Alang is a local lad and normally around, a few ex pats all come and go and we've a great wee community going on which is nice... home from home.

We headed out cycling a couple of times and one day even went up to Niki and Gie's place (who own Little Lylia's) and took the girls out cycling, they're lovely kids, cute as buttons!
Me'n'RobsonMe'n'RobsonMe'n'Robson

Delighted? Me??
Lylia and Frescia have new bikes which is great, they're just getting used to them but the road where they stay is ideal for learning, its out in the paddy fields and Gie's house is stunning. He's an architect and has designed not only the main house but 3 separate bungalows on the property which they rent out and are stunning... these are home from home, traditionally built but with everything you could need. I've got into a routine of taking the girls swimming at sunset, and I take one of the 4 pups in swimming with me... Puffy is a wee cutie but he causes chaos here because they do not like dogs here... they think they are dirty and run away from them so when I throw Puffy on my shoulder and head into the sea they think I'm a headcase!

So our days pass by, relaxing, swimming, having a few beers with the boys during the day, taking the girls and pups swimming and heading to Little Lylia's in the evening. Needless to say we make friends with lots of people and really had a fun time... one evening I even bumped into Robson Green and had to get a quick snapshot, he's been filming in Borneo for his fishing programme and to be honest I was a bit starstruck. Capt Jack Black and Robert resolve their differences and become firm friends dancing away of an evening which is hillarious. Tammy's Bar and Sun Ba were the usual unique experiences too but I'll let the pictures tell the rest of the story

When Emma left after 8 days I ultimately stayed on another week before I could drag myself away. By this point Danny and I had become firm friends and spent a great deal of time together, our first time out alone he had me married off and we were on honeymoon... I've added the Crystal Sunset Cruise details in the next entry, it was a real one off experience. Danny is fun and great company but when it's his time to leave I decide to go with him and get back on the road, he kindly came with me to Penang on route to Kuala Lumpur as I really didn't want to be alone on the ferry and I was relieved that the crossing was far calmer than previous.

So we arrived in Penang and headed down to the Rainbow2 before going to book Danny's overnight bus to KL so he could catch his flight out the next day, I'm really sad to see him go, it was lovely spending some quality time with him, but all good things and all that... unfortunately we're traveling different directions but hopefully we'll meet again.

So time to get back on the road and get my ass cycling again! I need to get back in shape after hanging out in the beach and bars of Langkawi. I'll really miss all the friends I've made, especially Emma, Robert and Danny but hopefully we'll all meet again!



Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Emma'n'IEmma'n'I
Emma'n'I

Brolly Up
The G;ManThe G;Man
The G;Man

Little Lylia's
Swimming in the LakeSwimming in the Lake
Swimming in the Lake

Pregnant Lady Lake


Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb