Quickstep in Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
December 12th 2013
Published: January 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Crossing the border was a piece of cake, with some involvement of drug dogs in the bus.
Georgetown is the 'capital' of island Penang. It is an island but it has road connection by a bridge. It doesn't feel like an island. Georgetown had something of my interest: incredible street art. I really enjoyed wandering around, admiring art, visiting Chinese temples, Buddhist temples, to have lunch in Little India. It has a good feel all over. Well except for Roger. Let me tell you about Roger. This very talkative, 60+, slightly to heavy, lives-still-at-his-moms, French guy was quite a character. From him repeatedly sharing about the amount of money he spends, which is half on beer, where to find the cheapest beer, to his reoccurring convincing himself that he doesn't pay for sex. Due to his lack of skills of reading body language in any way, we did meet 2 other oldies: an Ozzie and an English, who were hilarious. After finally getting rid of good ol' Roger we had quite a laugh at him and shared some prison, tattoo and travel stories. With an expensive beer of course, how else did we get rid of Roger? And I just remembered another something, which makes me feel I want to hide in a dark corner and cry a little. This weird Asian guy in the dorm. Weird because he comes home on the oddest hours, is always doing something with his hair, also on the oddest moments of the day, for hours. That's however not it: I walked in on him when he was doing something private and I wished it had stayed private, very very private..

In Georgetown my attempt on finding a volunteer project in the Philippines continued. This project was on, then off and back on again. And I found an add of this local guy asking for help with his project. Amazing, we chatted and I booked my ticket. Meaning off to KL and after fly to Manila!

Kuala Lumpur was not something I was looking forward to, as I'm never really excited to go to capitals. But honestly, KL is actually a nice city. Even though I lost most of my photo's of it, I did enjoy the wandering around, the (street)food, ladies cocktail night with Petronas view (uh hello!), the variety. There's a bird park, which is very expensive, but it also holds a restaurant, under the netting. So while sipping my average mixed fruit juice and looking around, there he was: a hornbill, they are spectaculair and surreal. I was so excited, beautiful, slightly odd, but that's what makes him pretty.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

street art- Georgetownstreet art- Georgetown
street art- Georgetown

amazing Lithuanian artist, Ernest Zacharevic
street art- Georgetownstreet art- Georgetown
street art- Georgetown

Lithuanian artist, Ernest Zacharevic
street art- Georgetownstreet art- Georgetown
street art- Georgetown

Lithuanian artist, Ernest Zacharevic
street art- Georgetownstreet art- Georgetown
street art- Georgetown

Lithuanian artist, Ernest Zacharevic
street art- Georgetownstreet art- Georgetown
street art- Georgetown

Lithuanian artist, Ernest Zacharevic


Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb