Melaka


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
December 1st 2012
Published: December 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Without looking back I don't recall when I last posted but I took the bus from the BTS Station this morning ( to which I woke at 6.30am and took the KTM (train) to the station)

Yesterday me, Millad and Ian (old Ian) walked into little India. It was good, we wandered through the streets, the wet market (with plenty of smelly fish and cows heads!) along with the fruit market.Millad bought some fruit called....which is really nice although a little messy to eat! We were stopped to sign an anti aids petition( and then found a small water cascade on the walk back Which was really pretty.

After that me, the guy that runs Raizzy's and a Japanese girl went across the street from the hostel and had an Indian lunch. In the evening as it was my last night Me, Millad, steven and the guy that runs Raizzys' brother had something to eat, again at the place over the street, at the recommendation of Millad.

It was a little spicy!! But only cost RM2!!! 40pence!! Ian bought the beers in and we sat in the hostel until 1.30am having a good laugh. Everyone retired to bed
and me and Millad sat up until 4am chatting still....that's why I feel tired!! Lol :-)

A welsh girl arrived at the hostel a couple of days ago and she went out to a bar with an American girl last night. But she was mugged on the walk back, more of a reason never to wader the streets late at night, get a taxi back! She's ok, bit shook up and lost about RM80/£16 and her camera. The police were called but mainly for a crime number for her insurance. The culprits were long gone.

I've a few days without plans after Melaka but before Singapore so I'm considering returning to KL fora few days as its only a 2hr bus ride away, plus I can get a direct bus then to Singapore from KL.




Today, I had a walk around The Dutch Square, also called Red Squared because all the surrounding buildings are painted red. It is by the river and is really quaint. Very photogenic.



The dutch buildings used to be painted in white until the British governor ordered it to be painted red.



There were
lots of well decorated rickshaw taking tourists To the historical points.



After a chance meeting with Dan, an American I travelled with for a bit in Vietnam 8 of us took bicycles out I visit the Portuguese settlement. We happened to get lost (probably due to the mix of 8 nationalities) ad ended up being guided by a local on his motorbike.




We have had tea at the night market and now I intend to sleep well...




The lady at the guesthouse bakes cakes free for guests and I just noticed tomorrows is pecan pie, today's was chocolate cake!

Love to all xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement















Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb