Duck Porridge and Dubious Taxi Drivers


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
May 22nd 2006
Published: May 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Duck porridge and Durian Juice
I finally managed to track down the elusive textbook, and after a ricecake breakfast I trekked back across town to pick it up praying it would be small and light... and thankfully it was (ish).
For lunch I had an interesting (thanks for the tip Chloe) Duck porridge lunch (literally duck and porridge) which was delicious. Its strange that at home we never use porridge as a base for anything other than breakfast, and it actually works very well. It was washed down with durian juice, which while tasty at first soon became too much to stomach.

To Malaysia
I caught a bus across the causeway into Malaysia. The crossing necessetated alighting twice - once for the Singapore departure and once for the Malaysian arrival. I cant help but think that combining the two would have been a marginally more sensible option, but what do I know! Immediately after the crossing I arrived in Johor Bahru, a buzzy city. The old asia was back - high kerbs, smells, dirt and touts. I had planned to stay a night in JB but a taxi driver told me that busses to Mersing were still running (which I had thought was not the case) so I got a taxi to the bus station. Then found out I was right. So I got a taxi to Mersing. And the taxi driver told me that boats to Tioman were still running (which I had thought was not the case). And I was right again. I spent the night in a cheap but basic hostel in Mersing, and prepared to get the boat across the next day.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 83; dbt: 0.13s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb