Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
December 14th 2016
Published: December 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Well its been a while since I last updated the old blog as I've not been on any long trips due to moving house. In my fantasy world that was all going to take a couple of months and off i'd go but in the real world it took nearly 18 months.

During that time I did manage a ten day stint in Malta which I really enjoyed especially Valletta.

I also took a couple of weeks in Southern Spain starting in Malaga, which was much nicer than i was expecting , before taking the train up to Seville......fantastic if you've not been go. Spent much of my time in the tapas bars near the cathedral eating myself into obesity. Last stop Granada where it snowed as i arrived!! Mind you it was February.

Got a couple of weeks in Tunisia which was OK got to visit some interesting Roman ruins and the obligatory carpet shop. To be honest though all inclusive package tours are not really my thing.

Last but not least Cyprus which i liked just fine except the hotel i stayed in was a bit out of town and seemed to be run by the Russian mob.....reception full of large men with prison tats and leather jackets. Friendly enough though and Ivan was always ready to run me into town for a euro.

Most of you know all this already but stuck it in for those of you I've not seen for a while just so you know i'm not dead.

Any how now that the whole moving house thing is done and dusted i'm getting a longer break this year. For no other reason than it was cheap and I didn't need a visa I flew into Kuala Lumpur about ten days ago. As always no real plan just a mooch around South East Asia, most of the places i'll have been to before so at least i'll know where i'm going so wont get lost...fat chance.

Before I left home I had every intention of at some point flying from K.L to South Korea but the more I look at the weather reports, its bloody freezing there, the less sure I am I want to go, we'll see.

Had a very enjoyable week in K.L where as well as seeing the sights I also managed to catch a chest infection so am only sleeping for am hour at a time before I wake myself up coughing. So much for giving up smoking.

Treated myself on the first few night to a suite at the E and O very nice indeed the place was bigger than my flat. It had a balcony overlooking the gardens but as it was on the 22nd floor I was too scared to go out there. Spent my days doing all the usual China town, Petronas towers, Central market and a trip to the aquarium where I got to see scuba Santa feeding the fish.

I've now moved on to Penang been here several times before but its well worth another trip. Made a slight error of judgement with my choice of breakfast the first morning, went for the eggs, I mean you can't go wrong with eggs for breakfast unless they come with a curry sauce that , to be fair the bloke did say was a bit spicy, a bit spicy!! It must have had half of Malaysia's chilli crop in it. Wakes you up a bit quicker that cornflakes i can tell you.

Going to spend a few days here maybe even a week before moving on to well not sure really but somewhere.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



14th December 2016

You are alive!
Yup, we were in the 'do you think he might be dead?' category! How are you? Looks like you're having fun again. Keep the posts coming xxx

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.046s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb