Another Quick Visit to Kuala Lumpur


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
April 9th 2015
Published: April 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The Batu CavesThe Batu CavesThe Batu Caves

272 steps....
Thank goodness I hadn't booked myself onto an early bus to Kuala Lumpur, as I was still shaky and not well when I boarded at 10.00am the next morning. Sitting in the bus terminal under Komtar, breathing in fumes and the lingering smell of cooked food from the eateries, certainly didn't help.

The coach had big, reclining, armchair style seats, three per row, and I fell into mine with a sigh of relief. I took off my shoes, pulled my small pillow from my backpack and dozed the next seven hours away. The bus pulled into Puduraya Terminal in central KL around 5.00pm, and I was greeted by a huge clap of thunder and a few spots of rain as I left the terminal, in search of a taxi. I knew my accomodation was within walking distance, but no way was I walking, not with a storm brewing coupled with my lousy sense of direction. Goodness knows where I may have ended up.

I was staying at Sarang Vacation Homes, in one of the old shophouses. It was a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom home which I shared with a young French couple and their baby. It suited me well enough, breakfast was included and served in the small kitchen where I had access to a microwave, fridge, toaster and free cups of tea. Certainly more than I had at many other places. Even though I hadn't eaten since having a very light breakfast, I wasn't hungry. I showered and had an early night, KL can wait until tomorrow, when hopefully, I'll be feeling better.

I was feeling much better the next day but had no real sight seeing agenda organised. I had yet to visit the Batu Caves outside KL, so I decided to start my day there. There is a train which runs to the caves, which is definately the best way to get there. My return trip cost less than $1.

Located approximately 11 klm north of KL, the Batu Caves is a limestone hill comprising of 3 large caves and a couple of smaller ones. Inside the largest cave you'll find a 100 year old Hindu temple and lots of idols and statues placed around. The temple is considered an important religious landmark by the Hindus. But to see it, and the aggressive monkeys that live in the caves, you have to climb 272 steps to
I Love KLI Love KLI Love KL

Outside the KL City Gallery
get there first. Quite a challenge in the heat!

Masjid Jamek Mosque, Chinatown, Little India and the KL City Gallery were all within walking distance from Masjid Jamek station, my next stop. I had visited this area before but the Gallery was new since 2013. The Kuala Lumpur City Gallery is an interesting tourist information centre with a collection of paintings and photos of KL’s history. It is located in a 114-year old colonial style building, across the road from Merdeka Square and the Mosque. Another attraction here definately worth a look is the miniature model of the entire city area of KL. It has over 5000 buildings, all built to scale, and is housed in a small theatre which runs a short film on KL's development, accompanied by a lighting show over the model itself. I also enjoyed a little retail therapy in their lovely gift shop...

The day is heating up again, it's incredibly hot here. I was unable to get inside the Mosque, it closed just I got there, same again later in the day. I had a browse through Central Market, thankfully well laid out and air conditioned. You could buy everything here, from
Queen Victoria FountainQueen Victoria FountainQueen Victoria Fountain

Situated in Merdeka Square, opposite the KL City Gallery
costume jewellery to Persian carpets.

Kuala Lumpur is one of the best cities in the world for a little retail therapy, so the next day I decided to track down a shop I wanted to visit - CzipLee. I had done an internet search looking for art supply and speciality paper shops and this one is at the top of the list.
This stationery emporium is lauded for its array of writing materials, papers, and an impressive range of art supplies and Moleskin journals, right up my alley.

Located only 1.5klm from Bangsar MRT Terminal (thank you Google!), it would be easy enough to find - a train, then a $2 taxi fare, had me at their door in no time. I must have spent an hour browsing but ended up buying only drawing pens, a brand I've not seen at home with very fine nibs. I browsed through the other shops in this area, then had lunch in a coffee shop while I planned my next move.

I can't possibly visit KL and not make the effort to see the Petrona Towers again, so next stop was KLCC station. I had visited the skywalk between the towers in 2013 and I'm not interested to doing that again. I took a couple of photos and walked around the fountains and through the park in front of the towers where huge old fig trees still survive. An oasis in a busy city.

There was nothing else I had the energy for in KL. My air conditioned room and unfinished book beckoned. Tomorrow I catch another bus to Melaka, 2 hours south of KL. I'm heading towards Singapore and eventually, home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

KL City GalleryKL City Gallery
KL City Gallery

The KL city miniature -5000 tiny buildings
Stolen BootyStolen Booty
Stolen Booty

Another Batu Caves monkey with the marigold offering he stole from the temple


10th April 2015
Batu Cave Monkey

Adorable
It is tough traveling when you are not feeling well. Glad you are doing better. This little guy is very cute.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb