Kuala Lumpur - Pffftt...


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
February 20th 2009
Published: February 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Da skybridge 31 secs
2: Twin Towers by night 18 secs
3: KL Tower by night 15 secs
There we have themThere we have themThere we have them

Conny gazing up the Petronas Towers.
So I came from the wonderful city/state of Singapore making my way to the next metropolis: Kuala Lumpur. That was sort of a mistake as I will explain soon. First I have to say that the bus from Johor Bahru to KL was the best long distance bus I've EVER been on. The friggin seat was like an easy-chair! No music, no TV and of course AC. A promising start for Malaysia.

Unfortunately KL was a disappointment. I was a bit lost when getting off the bus as I'd expected to be dropped off close to Chow Kit where I was supposed to stay. Turned out I had to subway and monorail my ass to the other side of the city center. I chose the Hostel Cosmopolitan as they had WiFi in the rooms and free breakfast. I would also be ab le to watch the NBA All Star Weekend there. The place, although excellent reviews on the Internet, was so-so. First of all it's relativly expensive (50RM) for a windowless room without bathroom and a crappy bed. No doubt this was a hostel as my room was next to a dorm room and one night some asshole was sporadically playing some fucking bongo drum. Allt this while other inconsiderate fucks were slamming their doors and making general noise. Ahh, gotta love your fellow man! On the plus side, other than the reasons I mentioned for staying there, the black dude working there was very helpful and even the the grumpy looking owner turned out to be quite helpful. When I get back to KL I'll be staying in Chinatown though, as Chow Kit was a bit of a shithole. Okay I'm back in the real Southeast Asia again, was my thought when arriving there. Dirty place with garbage everywhere and the usual dodgy looking buildings. Shabby cats everywhere and the goddamn roosters again! So I gotta say that it was a positive thing living in a windowless room as I didn't have to listen to these awful creatures. I also barely heard the constant worshipping going on in all the mosques the neighborhood was littered with. Not only did you have the five daily "singing" prayers, there were also these damn services or something. Everything done through the goddamn loudspeakers! I don't give a shit if people worship Allah, God, Vishnu or Belial, but can't they keep it to
"Oh daddy, it's HUGE!""Oh daddy, it's HUGE!""Oh daddy, it's HUGE!"

The coolest thing about this place was that I heard a band rehearsing somewhere in the tower, playing an instrumental version of Deep Purple's "Highway star" and doing it pretty damn well! Unfortunately I was told they were playing for some private party, so I never got to see them.
themselves?

As Chow Kit was an extremely muslim part of a muslim city/country there was no way in hell I'd find any pork, my favorite meat, in this part of town. I went to a "food court" the first evening there and tried to get a decent meal. There wasn't much to choose from and after being denied pork I asked for some beef with vegetables. "What kind of vegetables?" they asked. "Well, tomatoes would be nice" I answered. "WHAT!? Are you crazy!?" they replied... (??????) Okay... "How 'bout some peppers or cucumbers then?". "No, no!" "Okay, get me whatever... and NOT spicy!" I got a tiny halfassed meal that was a bit spicy... Screw this, I'll lower myself to MacDonalds then and that's where I ate for the rest of my stay, I'm sad to confess... My first visit to Starbucks was a ripoff aswell as I ended up paying more for the coffee than for my previous MacD-meal. I was quite shocked over paying 8:60RM for a coffee of the week. Turned out I had all reason to be as I've "only" paid 6:90 since.

As in many other SEA:n cities they were cheap on street
View from KL TowerView from KL TowerView from KL Tower

The side view of the Twin Towers.
signs making it a nightmare for a guy without any sence of locality. My biggest help was following the elevated monorail tracks. I'm like an impatient kid when not finding my way, frustrated and angry, blaming everyone and everything but my own inept self. Street signs would help though.

Kuala Lumpur is hotter than Hell! I love the heat but this was a bit too much, even for me. Everyday I returned to the hostel with a soaked T-shirt and I'm not the overly sweaty type of guy. Even after dark it was a nice boiling heat. It was "coolest" just before dawn but even then it was too hot. Thank Baal I had AC in my room. I was a bit surprised by this as I came from Singapore which is south of KL and there it wasn't close to this kind of humid heat.

So why was it a mistake coming to KL from Singapore? Well, as I explained in the last post Singapore was a really nice and happening town and pure Heaven after having travelled through dirty SEA for three months. Of course everything after Singapore will be like Stephen King's TV-version of "The
View from KL Tower 2View from KL Tower 2View from KL Tower 2

Conny perspective.
Shining" compared to Kubrick's masterpiece. So maybe if I would've skipped Singapore I'd actually would've liked KL? Who knows... Only thing more happening about KL than Singapore was the obvious: the Petronas Towers and the "space dick" - the KL Tower. I gotta admit they were cool, but that was it. And by he way, KL stank! Yeah, the lovely smell from the sewers was oozing up from various holes in the ground. Quite a nice touch, especially in the sickening heat!

So how were the towers then? Okay I guess. I went up in KL Tower first and had the bad timing (what else is new?) of ending up with a really loud group of retards. Yes, I mean the figuratively mentally challenged. Why was this a problem other than for the obvious annoyance? You see, when entering the observation floor you get this audio-visual gadget that guides you from window to window. Problem for me was I couldn't hear half of what was said due to these fucking assholes screaming like a bunch of halfbrained kids. Yes, they were grown-ups... Naturally when I finished the audio-visual tour the morons disappeard, but by then I didn't really feel
Complementary waterComplementary waterComplementary water

This is what they gave us going up the phallic tower. Some Swedes never got the idea behind the shape of the bottle. Stupid people them Swedes...
like doing it all over again. I however stayed around to have another look at the view which was quite nice. It was DEFINITELY not worth the 38RM though! Not even with the complementary funny shaped bottle of water... I also got a complementary ticket to an F1 simulator that I wasn't too excited about but I thought I would try as it was for free. Turned out I was too tall to do it... The day after I went to see the Petronas Twin Towers. I knew I had to get there early as there's always a huge line to get the free tickets. So I got there at 7:30AM and there was about 50 people there already. The thing opened at 8:30AM and by then there were maybe 300-400 people there. I was under the impression that I'd get to choose a time slot when I wanted to do my visit during the day. Apparently not as I was whisked away straight to the queue for the 9AM visit. Whatever... First we had to pass an airport style security check and then we were forced to watch a 7 minute commercial depicting the glory of the mighty Petronas
Deadly jungle!!!Deadly jungle!!!Deadly jungle!!!

Right next to the "space dick" they have a rainforest park which is quite ridiculous when you've walked through a couple of real ones, but still... IT'S DEADLY! Just look at the sign! I'm glad I got out alive...
corporation! A nice touch was the "stylish" goggles we were equipped with as the damn thing was in 3D. Too bad for me I'm not able to experience the effect as my eyesight is fubar. I, however, looked really handsome in the goggles (see photo)! After the crapmercial we were taken up to the 41st floor skybridge where we had 10 minutes to roam around and take pictures. People have said that the view is shit compared to the one from the KL Tower. I beg to differ though. I wouldn't say it was that bad. Of course the KL Tower view is better but this one was still OK and this one is for FREE! An argument for the KL Tower view is that you get a nice view of the Petronas Towers. It's a side view though so it's not that hot.

I also went to the Batu Caves outside of town as a good tourist boy. What a waste of time. This place was a total Mickey Mouse circus. I took the local bus out there for only 2RM which is a much better option than the taxi ride people suggest on the Internet. Arriving there
Circus groundCircus groundCircus ground

Welcome to Batu Caves - nature meets humanity...
I found myself in the middle of some crazy fair with a billion stalls and horrible "music" being blasted from a dozen different PA-systems. Just the way I like it... After climbing the 272 (I think) steps with hordes of people and some monkeys I entered the actual cave which would've been cool if it hadn't been filled with MORE STALLS and MORE BLASTING MUSIC! Cheesus! Abominable! What the hell is wrong with people??? I needed to quickly haul ass out of there. Fortunately this crap was also for free so it only cost me the 2RM for the bus.

I'm looking forward to returning to KL...


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Original: monkey with a bananaOriginal: monkey with a banana
Original: monkey with a banana

Monkey dude and I are actually on the same diet. I'm eating a shitload of bananas these days.
Monkey and milkshake...Monkey and milkshake...
Monkey and milkshake...

Uhm... Yes, monkey and I are still on the same diet. I've done a lot of crappy fast food lately.
Inside the Mickey Mouse caveInside the Mickey Mouse cave
Inside the Mickey Mouse cave

It's a big ass cave. Lots of room for hawkers...
Early hoursEarly hours
Early hours

The Twin Towers at dawn.
Nice look...Nice look...
Nice look...

Looking like Mark Borchardt* with the 3D glasses on. Not exactly a look to strive for... *Google it
Nicer lookNicer look
Nicer look

Conny looks a hell of a lot better than I with these ridiculous glasses on.
View from the skybridgeView from the skybridge
View from the skybridge

Conny checking the view from the 41st floor.
The skybridgeThe skybridge
The skybridge

Just a corridor folks.


22nd February 2009

Unfair judgement
I think it would be unfair to say that you had a dissapointed time. It's because you did not know where to stay or where to look around. KL has many places for cheap good food with pork. I think you need to do a little bit of homework before you go. And... if you want it cheap, no reason to complain
27th February 2009

Dear X
Umm... No, it's pretty fair to say I was disappointed as that would be exactly how I felt. Yeah I guess I didn't do my homework properly, but then I've always hated homework. I scanned some hostel reviewing sites and the Cosmopolitan got the best ones so there I went. The complaining comes from me being spoiled by so much better accomodation for less money in other parts of SEA. But I'm slowly learning about what you get for your buck here in Malaysia. "You get what you pay for" really applies on the latest joint, here in KL, I'm staying in. More on that in a later post...
21st March 2009

IM A MALAYSIAN AND IM A MUSLUM AS WELL. ALL U SAID ABOUT MALAYSIA IS WRONG. WE ARE RESPECT OUR RELIGION N RACE. IF U DISLIKE OUR COUNTRY DONT U EVER COME ANY MORE. FUCK U!!!!
24th March 2009

My sweet anonymus "MUSLUM"...
I believe I told the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth in this post. I'm also amazed by how you sweet haters misread everything I write. This post was about KL and not the entire country of Malaysia, which by the way I liked. KL though, I maintain is a true shithole! I have no idea what you are refering to when you angrily state "WE ARE RESPECT OUR RELIGION N RACE." What on earth has that got to do with me? I'm sure you do and I'm happy for you. Maybe you're implying that I hate Malaysians and muslims? Well, not more than everyone else... I find the act of worshipping quite odd though, whatever or whomever you choose to worship. Maybe you can sleep easier, dear hateful person, if I tell you I probably won't return to Malaysia. It has nothing to do with dislike though, I have other places to see. I kiss you, your "race" and your God!
9th April 2009

You are simply pathetic !!! Please dont come back ... ever ... to Malaysia. We dont need a pitiful tourist like you !
12th April 2009

My dear sweet anonymus hater!
Aren't you a bit harsh in your judgement? Just because I didn't like the cesspool you call Kuala Lumpur you want to ban me for life? I guess the fact that I liked the other places I visited: Cameron Highlands, Taman Negara and Penang, doesn't mean shit to you? Wow! I'm sooooooo sorry my dear. Here's a wet kiss for you straight between your butt cheeks. I guess that's the only way to make you happy. Enjoy sugarpie!
16th September 2011

I agree.
KL was a complete disapointment, if they love there city so much, why litter and fuck it up with pollution, its a crap hole filled with retailers more than willing to rip you off. Stupid ass president wanks on in every tourist map how great the city is and warm the people are... couldnt be futher from the truth. Shit hole, two days and I had had enough.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb