My Business Trip in Kuala Lumpur (Day 1)


Advertisement
Published: February 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, 19th February 2012

It was just last week when I received an email from my superior that I was needed at our KL office. My first reaction was, "Ok" since KL was just a short ride away and I haven't had a chance to meet up with our team over there.

On Sunday evening, I decided to take an evening flight to the Malaysian capital to prepare myself for a good night's rest before heading to our office on Monday morning. The Singapore Airlines 45 minutes flight to Kuala Lumpur cost a whopping SGD429 for a return. For such a short duration, I wouldn't contemplate flying a full service carrier for leisure. Basically, a serving of complimentary glass of orange juice separated between the likes of budget carriers and Singapore Airlines, at a hefty price tag to say the least. Service? What service would you expect from here?

Arrival at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport was a familiar affair for me since I had the chance to travel to the city for a few times over the past couple of years. Taking the aerotrain to the customs and purchasing the limousine coupons for the shuttle to our hotel at Concorde Kuala Lumpur wasn't too difficult to comprehend.

Over at the taxi counter, my boss was urging me to get the luxury service since the money did not come from his own pocket. In the end, 3 of us settled for the premier service since it was equally comfortable to do the trip. Still, the final bill went beyond the RM102 bracket for the 57km run to the city.

It was closed to 9pm when we finally arrived at the hotel lobby. We decided to settle our dinner at the inhouse Melting Pot Cafe since we were simply too hungry and lazy to explore the other food options outside our hotel. Me and K ordered a huge serving of Nasi Lemak and fruit juice for our first dinner in KL.

Whenever people mentioned about their business trips, my eyes were always filled with envy. Little did I knew that when it was finally my turn to go, I wasn't looking forward to it at all. On the contrary, I had started to miss home even before the trip. Nevertheless, I would be staying in KL for the next 3 days.

I just hoped that my time would be well-spent in the office for the next couple of days doing productive work while meeting my weekly reporting deadlines.

Advertisement



20th February 2012

Very efficient! Enjoy your trip.. i want also dont have. :p

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1109s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb