KL Reflections


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

I figured it was another great time for reflection.

Although I am slowly beginning to settle here in KL, I know there's more to come.

I've yet to find a place to live; guesthouse living takes its toll on you. However, I have spent the last few weeks with Maher, so no more dorm rooms.

Our relationship is growing stronger by the day and I think it's because of having him here that I have settled in so well. When you are so far away from family, it's good to have someone you know you can always rely on, someone to share the happy memories with and someone to be there, just to listen.

Some days I sit and reflect on times gone by; I've come to realise that all anyone wants is validation, love, security, enjoyment and most importantly hopes for a better future, whether it be for themselves, others or the world.

The way they verbalise this and work towards it is where we all branch off, but we all have the same basic desires. You can relate to everyone in the world if you look past the superficial things that separate you from them.

Travelling is so full of unknowns and it really started to grow on me...but there is that certain something about being grounded too. Having your feet set firmly on the ground. Knowing exactly whats coming, rather than that slightly unnerving feeling of not knowing what bus to take, what could be lurking in the grass, or what meat you were ACTUALLY getting with your meal, but then its sometimes the unknown that keeps life exciting!

Never once did I feel in danger while travelling alone, but rather a feeling of being more alive then I have in a long time!

I met so many interesting and friendly people on my travels and it truly reinforced the saying of "don't judge a book by its cover"

I probably took two of the greatest friendships from my travels, my best friend Hope and my partner and future, Maher.

Never live your whole life working towards one really big major goal that you hold onto for years, all that will happen is you will have a major anticlimax after the dust settles. Work towards it, that's fine, but stop deferring your happiness.Get there slower and enjoy the ride. Experience everything along the way.

Life is too short – make sure you never waste a second of it.

Money comes and goes, memories last a lifetime.

Love to all...here's to the future, however bright or stormy it may be.

xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0924s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb