Island Paradise


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Pulau Redang
July 9th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Redang. July 4-9th.

As cliche as it sounds, Redang was ripped off of one of those postcards. The ones that people send their friends when they want them to feel jealous: beaches with smooth white sand, palm trees hanging over the shore, and turquoise water filled with fish and coral reefs.

Ironically, it was my dad who booked the trip. He's been going to a yoga class and his instructor was holding a yoga retreat on the island. There were yoga classes in the morning at 5:30, so that we could watch the sunrise while doing sun salutations. In the heat of the day we floated face down in the water or went scuba diving, staring at the fishes, wondering if we even have names for the colours we're seeing. In the evenings, the only thing to do was walk down the beach and look at the stars.

If ever life becomes too much, or there seems to be no beauty left, come to Redang for a week, do yoga on the beach, and everything will fade. I try to keep these pictures filed in a special section of my brain so that when I'm riding on a hot crowded bus, or have just missed the last train, I can take them out and turn them over slowly in my mind until everything around slowly fades and I have to try not to let tears start streaming down my face.

xoxo.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb