Snorkelling with sharks and turtles on an island paradise


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Perhentian Kecil
August 9th 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

You know, usually I like to go for a clever pun for these titles. But this time, I just decided to go straight for the jealousy button. And you already feel pretty jealous don't you? Don't lie, I know you are. As Lionel Ritchie once said, I can see it in your eyes. Hello.

We made an early start from Kota Bharu, and as such were relaxing on Coral Bay on Pulau Perhentian Kecil by 11am. I'd rented out some snorkelling gear, and went for a bit of an explore into the water, to see some of the most bizarre rainbow coloured fish I've ever seen. There was also one cheeky chappy that challenged me to a duel, by repeatedly swimming right into my face, then backing off. We faced off for half an hour or so, then it seemed to concede defeat. I turned to go, then the cheeky blighter bit me in the leg. Ratbags. Chastened by this, I retired to the beach.

Despite this harrowing experience, I still wanted to go on a snorkelling tour the next day, so Chris and myself hopped into a boat with a few other people and set off round the islands. At our first stop, I saw a couple of barracudas which was quite exciting. Not nearly as exciting as the second stop though, where I went swimming with a real life shark. It wasn't plastic or anything. And is if trying to compete, the third stop had us all following a giant turtle about its daily business. Awesome. The fourth stop took us to some fried noodles, which perhaps wasn't quite as awesome, but still tasted pretty good.

With the rest of the time on the island, we kind of did the sort of thing you're supposed to do on tropical islands which is bugger all really. I managed to hold my breath underwater for over a minute which was quite impressive. And one of the restaurants managed to take over an hour and a half to deliver us our meal one evening, which was less impressive.

Feeling suitably relaxed, I parted ways with Chris in Kota Bharu, as he headed for Thailand and I quite literally headed for the hills - time for tea and scones in the Cameron Highlands.

Stewart






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb