Weekend on Perhentian Island in Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Perhentian Besar
April 21st 2008
Published: May 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I decided to go to Perhentian Island for some sun and sand. This island is found on the East Coast of Peninsular Malaysia in the South China Sea. Ahh-so beautiful! It took 2 plane-rides, 1 hour of taxi and 45 minutes of boat to get to this island.

I am happy to say that this is where I completed my 100th dive! Apparently, tradition among divers is to celebrate this all important milestone by diving naked! But I am prude- what can I say and so decided not to follow through with this tradition 😉

The dive crew were very gracious about my decision and instead, they invited to my very first full-moon party! I was so lucky to have accidently fallen on this annual event! No, I did not get lost from my group because there were too many people and I didn't have to walk over drugged up passed-out bodies on the beach. It was smaller-scale local one and it was cool. We were drinking Orang Utan a.k.a. monkey juice alcohol and danced danced danced.

Very nice weekend indeed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



8th May 2008

Wow
Congrats on your 100th dive! Looks like paradise on your side of the world. :)
10th May 2008

Already 100 dives? You have been diving a lot :-) Very nice pictures and what wonderful water colour!!! Who is the beautiful asian girl with the crew pic? You lost weight... Bisous Pineapple
11th May 2008

Bravo pour la centième plongée!! Nice place to stay!!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb