The Islamic capital


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Kuala Terengganu
May 14th 2011
Published: May 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Terengganu

The costal city

Taking a short trip on a public bus I arrived in the states capital Terengganu, a small city that I found had lots do and see and not many tourists. After finding a clean but very basic room above a travel agents I headed off for a look around. I had my hair cut, visited the night market where I chose random foods to try even after eating them I won't sure what they all were other than deep fried, visited central market and learnt that fridays most things were closed as it is a religious day, and Terengganu has a high population of muslims. Although I did manage to walk up the biggest 'hill' that took a minute to walk up, but had been used during the war for vision on coming enemies and still had canons, a bell and a watch tower up there. It also had the best view over the city.
The following day I visited Dunung island on a family long boat, who had offered to take me over to see how they made boats to be sold both locally and internationally, when I arrived they were making a fishing net for one of the boats. After speaking with the workmen I caught a boat back, next on my list for the day was a walk around the large warehouse type shop to find some new clothes (I found a top). I then headed off to the bus station intending on going to the flooting mosque however after some difficulty in finding out how to get there I decided to visit south east asia's biggest museum. After waiting for over an hour for a bus that I was told would take me there I was then told there was no bus, however some guy gladly got his friend to take me, after bargaining a price (then later adding a side trip to a brand new 3billion dollar mosque complex) he drove me to the museum in a car that I was surprised made it off the drive way and I saw some bad ones in Queenstown! I only had an hour at the museum as he was picking me back up but I could have spent all day there.
I finished my day with a trip to the noodle box for curry mee (noodles in a curry soup) and an iced lemon tea which were delicious.



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb