Food glorious food


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
February 21st 2013
Published: February 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Where oh where has the sun gone? It has been raining here for last 48 hours, giving me time to catch up on some reading. I have read quite a few books since being away but only one to recommend so far - Therapy by David Lodge.

Following a second massage, at last I can walk down steps without having to side step! My legs finally feel part of me again and the climb will soon be a distant memory. Obviously never forgotten.

Ahhha! Thinking my English had failed me, I have finally solved the Tiger Beer mystery - three or four as part of a promotion for 12 ringgit (just over £2) or Happy hour - 2 for price of one. This became clearer last night when I visited Ruai, an Iban bar, before dinner. Essentially this is a restaurant/bar splendidly decorated in an ethnic Sarawakian style, managed by an Iban family. Here they serve traditional Tuak in a variety of flavours. Unfortunately due to language issues I was unable to sample this and settled for more Tiger.With thirst quenched I headed for the See Food Court restaurant which was packed full of locals. There didn't appear to be a tourist in sight! Always the best places to eat, in my opinion. I was greeted by friendly staff including an elderly gentleman who spends his days peeling garlic! With so much choice, I ordered stir fried Midin with belacan and Red snapper in Ayam (spicy, sour gravy). The photos tell the tale. One of the nicest meals yet on my four week exploration of Borneo.

After a rest I decided this morning it was time to sample Sarawak Laksa (originating as its name suggests in Sarawak). I head to Chong Choon again, rumoured to have one of the best in Kuching. It is quite different to curry laksa with a base of sambal belacan, tamarind, garlic, galangal, lemon grass and coconut milk, topped with omelette, chicken strips and prawns. With the optional lime and sambal bringing it to new heights. Absolutely delicious.

And now - some light shopping.

Off to Sarawak cultural village tomorrow (tucked away at the foothills of Mount Santubong, 35 km from Kuching), kindly arranged by Ivy's husband, who arranges trips across Kuching. This is a museum showcasing the different tribes of Sarawak, various tribal houses and the chance to see one of the multi-cultural shows. I am looking forward to it immensely.

I will report back soon.

Hope you are all well back home and my blog is not making you too envious, with mouth watering culinary delights on tap.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Peels garlic all dayPeels garlic all day
Peels garlic all day

So much! Not sure he was keen to have photo and promptly moved his wares to the back. Maybe coincidence!
IvyIvy
Ivy

My friend from the riverside majestic club lounge
Sarawak LaksaSarawak Laksa
Sarawak Laksa

Delicious!
Chong ChoonChong Choon
Chong Choon

Look at the choices of toasts!


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb