Kuchinta Escape (1st - 3rd May 2009)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
May 2nd 2009
Published: May 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My search for a home in the Cat City



I arrived at the spanking new Kuching International Airport shortly after 4.30pm on Labour Day 2009. First impression of the modern airport was good and there were boarding bridges connecting the Tiger Airways flight to the Terminal Building. We were led to the makeshift table where we filled up the health declaration forms and had our temperatures taken.

“36.5 Degrees sir!”

I was given the all clear signal to proceed to the customs. I wondered what could have happened if I was diagnosed with a fever. Would I be asked to catch the next connecting flight back to Singapore?

I picked up the expensive RM 30 taxi coupon and a city map of Kuching which would bring me to my accommodation at the city centre. Due to unforeseen circumstances, I decided not to check in @ the lodge which I reserved earlier. I saw the “Fata Hotel” opposite the road and decided to try my luck.

“We are fully booked for the day sir!”

My next destination was “Borneo B & B”, a long-time guesthouse runned by the indigenous Iban people of Sarawak.

“RM 38 for a single room with bath sir! But I can quote you RM 36 if you want.”

“What a steal!” I thought.

But before parting my Ringgit Malaysia, I decided to check out the room condition.

The young man gave me the keys to room 105 upstairs which I slowly made my way up the creepy staircase. I was appalled by the state of room conditions. The room was dark and musty and there were no windows. I tried to turn on the switches but no lights came out. I freaked out.

“Maybe some other time.” I said apologetically to the Iban young boy before moving on.

I proceeded further uphill to the Borneo Hotel.

"Hotel should be quite well-maintained," I thought.

Looking at the lavish marble lobby, I was impressed.

“RM 120 nett for a room a night. No breakfast!”

I decided to grab the offer since I was tired and the sky was getting dark.

The room had a small window overlooking the main street. Certainly, it had seen better days when I looked at the condition of the wash basin and the bed. Anyway, since I had already paid 2 nights rental, I decided to make the best of my stay at Borneo Hotel.

The rest of the evening was spent wandering about at the Kuching waterfront and catching a glimpse of the cat statutes. The city centre was compact and safe enough to roam around freely. And I have to admit that the city is blessed by beautiful sunsets over Sarawak River. With well maintained pavements, Kuching is certainly one of the most pedestrian-friendly cities in Malaysia.

I’m glad to spend my holidays here and grateful that budget carriers have made traveling to this part of Malaysia an inexpensive alternative.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb