Ariel View of Mt. Kinabalu, Kundasang and Mamut Copper Mine


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Mount Kinabalu
June 26th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Complemented by excellent weather, June 11th 2008 turned out as a great photography experience. Our first route took off at 0600 hours and headed straight towards the infamous Mt. Kinabalu. The 20 minute quite-bumpy helicopter ride was well worth the experience; the visibility of the majestic Mt. Kinabalu was just amazing. Due to the "no fly zone" area of approximately 2.5KM, I managed to zoom in for pretty good shots (if I do say so myself :p) of Low's Gully, Low's Peak, Kundasang Market and Mamut Copper Mine. Without the aid of flash, setting precise shutter speeds to capture original colours plus a "strap on" steady grip, the output turned out more than what I had expected! The return route for refueling saw me snapping away shots of the Likas Mosque with Mt. Kinabalu in the distance (tiny but still visible!). Among the 489 RAW images taken, that is definitely one my favourite shots. There's still plenty more ariel photos of the Sabah Foundation Building, 1 Borneo (Largest hypermall to date), Kota Kinabalu City, 5 Star resorts and not forgetting the Tunku Abdul Rahman Islands. I'll be uploading them soon so do stay "tuned" to my postings!


A chance onboard a helicopter with my Nikon D70 plus excellent weather, the experience was AWESOME. Enjoy...




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



1st August 2008

hi..
nice shots! how do u get on a helicopter? I want that too!! :P
20th August 2009

Mamut
I was pleased to see your shots of Mamut Mine, do you have any others of the area around Mamut. I am a geologist working in Kalimantan, and am interested in seeing what the surrounding landforms are. Look forward to hearing from you. Am visiting KK with wife the Mamut exhibition in museum at KK and this has aroused my curiousity and hence finding your photos on the web. Cheers Phil M.
17th September 2009

Ariel View of Mt. Kinabalu, Kundasang and Mamut Copper Mine
Hi Phil, Thanks for your note. The shots are not much, just the Mamut Copper Mine and Kundasang/Ranau (KinabaluPark) area only. When are you visiting KK? Is there anything that I can help? Sorry for the late reply, I guess I didn't see the "new comment" email notification - it may got into the spam folder. Email would guarantee a faster reply. Regards, Charles H. charlieheng@gmail.com www.charlie76.co.cc

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb