Search of Sunrise


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
October 24th 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 1

While everyone else busy celebrating Deepavali, i decide to above my boundaries and try to be adventurous as i can. Depart to Kota Kinabalu by Airasia at 1045am and arrived 2hours later. The taxi drive suggest me to accomodate in Summer Lodge, and it already in my few budget hostel list. It only cost RM22 per night and come with breakfast. After put all my luggage, start to figure it out what's interesting about Kota Kinabalu, i went to handicraft market, fish market, waterfront, and some similar shopping complex that we can get in Kuala Lumpur.

Day 2

Gaya Sunday Market just down stairs of my hostel. There got few interesting stuff, but to shopping is not my main agenda, since I need to cut off the budget to the maximum level. I went to Sapi and Mamutik Islands, do some snorkeling and what beach bummer need to do d;D. I went off to sleep early at 9pm, i thought it can be prolong until next morning because i need to wake up early and pack my stuff and move on to next destination, out of 5 roomates, exclude me, 3 of them is snoring like hell. Yes i cant blame on them, and try to adapt myself with this situation.

Day 3

The time has come. After had my breakfast, i manage to find out transportation to Kinabalu park.
It cost about RM20 by van ( they call it bus ). We ( with others 2 ) depart at 7:30 p.m and reach Kinabalu park entrance at 9:30p.m. Register and got my climbing permit, we start to hiking at 11pm.
Start my route from Timpohon gate and i name it as a rough route road.! d;D. It extremely rough and plus with rainy day and I only can be able to reach at Laban Rata after 5 hrs and total up 6 km.

Day 4

It time for the summit. Need to wake up early at 2am. After breakfast we proceed to hike about 2km to reach the summit. We reach the summit after 3hrs hiking, really breathtaking and worth it ( check out my photos )

Day 5

Packing and went home


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



19th August 2011

mount kinabalu
Hi areep. Did you took a package to climb the mount Kinabalu. I tried hard to DIY my trip to climb Kinabalu but apparently we aren't allowed to booked any bed by our selves in Laban Rata. I would be really happy to avoid any package that they are offering...it is ridiculously expensive. I'd love to make it on my own...what say you? tq

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb