Day 3 & 4 - Lumut, Pangkor Island and dried fish


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Perak » Lumut
March 31st 2010
Published: March 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

We started off Day 3 of our trip by packing up the car and heading to Lumut, a seaside town that acts as the port to Pangkor Island.
It felt like a very long trip, but it was interesting to see some of the smaller towns we drove through on the way there. It was quite a culture shock to see some of the places people live. I probably spent most of the drive looking at the different types of houses, and wondering about how some of the houses were big and nice looking but were surrounded by lots of smaller shacks, some almost falling apart.

We checked into the hotel we were staying at and it didn't take long before Danny and Peter were down in the pool enjoying the cool of the water. I'm sure you will be very surprised to hear that I took the opportunity to lay down on a chair and read a book!
After the relaxing swim we walked down to the jetty to check the ferry times and explore the town a little bit. Probably the coolest shop we found was craft store with lots of paintings and carvings. We found quite a few things we liked, but decided to wait and see - we ended up going back the next night and got a nice discount after buying half the shop.

We ate at a bar called 'Jook's' which has lots of choices, including Western food - hooray! I did discover that BBQ sauce here is not what we call BBQ sauce back home. Rather than the plain old (yummy) brown sauce it is this clear sauce with capsicum through it. Despite not being what I'd expected, it was very yummy.

After dinner we went hunting for somewhere to play pool, and found a nice quiet bar called Rockafellas where Danny was the reining champion and then, since we had seen banana splits everywhere we had gone that day, we decided to get desert. Since the Rockafellas didn't serve desert, we headed back to Jook's and had some very yummy banana splits!

The next morning we headed down to the jetty to catch the ferry over to Pangkor Island.
We caught a taxi (all of the taxis on the island were bright pink Toyota vans - it was like a really beat up Barbie van) around to the beach side of the island.

We hired some kayaks and rowed over to a smaller island with a little beach - our own private beach! There wasn't much to do there except chase crabs and take photos, so once we had done that for a little while we rowed back - well, Danny rowed our kayak... I rowed a couple of strokes every few minutes... I was very helpful...
We had lunch at a little cafe - I ordered sausages and am still unsure of whether that was a mistake or not. They were the weirdest sausages ever. They still tasted good, they just made me a bit nervous since I'm not even sure what kind of meat was in them. At least not being able to read or speak the language here is forcing me out of my comfort zone and into odd foods.

After this came the best part of the day - we hired a jet ski and Danny and I went out for what was meant to be 20 minutes, but I think was possibly closer to 40. After 10 minutes of Danny driving it he offered me a turn and I very hesitantly accepted, and screamed even more while I was driving than I had while Danny was! I finally got the nerve up to take it to full throttle and had sooooo much fun! We traded again and Danny decided to do some very sharp turns, which resulted in me being completely drenched. It was so much fun though, it was worth it. Just meant I had to find somewhere to buy some pants afterwards!

Back in Lumit, we went to Jook's again for dinner. I ordered Carbonara, which had on the menu that it had raw egg in it. This worried me slightly, but I figured they stirred it through and it kinda cooked itself. I was wrong. The pasta itself was great, but sitting in a half-shell in the bowl was an actual raw egg yolk. I'm not going that far out of my comfort zone - I ate around it and was very careful not to knock it over and into my food. Danny did try some, and dipped the pasta into the egg yolk. Apparently it is very nice but I'm still not game.
From here we went down to the other Jook's, which is a snooker bar. We played a few games and got quite freaked out by a very drunk and very forward Thai lady (lady is possibly a stretch) and politely left!

Most of the markets were still open so Danny and I went back to them for a little while. I forgot to mention, they have these pink bags hanging everywhere - I kept thinking they had fairy floss in them whenever we drove places and would get very excited at the thought of eating fairy floss. When you are outside the car, however, you cannot mistake these bags for fairy floss. They have this thing over here where they dry out fish and then sell it either whole or in little flakes. Icky! It is the most overpowering smell I have ever, ever smelt.

Anyway, thats about it for Days 3 & 4!!

Manford sends his love.





Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



1st April 2010

Yummy
Mmmmm fish flavoured fairy floss. Everyone's favourite. I love how Manford looks scared at the speed of the taxi =p
2nd April 2010

Manfords a worry
I think he is scared to let go of you hand! and I think he really didn't like the little boat. Look after him and if you lose him look in your pocket!

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb