Food, Beaches and More in Penang and Langkawi


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang
November 29th 2010
Published: November 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

HostelHostelHostel

Love Lane
Before reading this post, I want to make it clear that… NO I am not a travel agent pushing for you to take a trip to Malaysia. I just happen to love this country – where I was originally from.

If you’ve had even the slightest interest in going to Malaysia, you’ve probably heard about the emerald waters and beautiful weather, but very few know about the cuisines. And I’m not being biased here – but a mixture of Chinese, Indian and Malay cuisines all in one, sounds delicious doesn’t it? Well, maybe it’s not for everyone, but if you have a little adventure in your heart, you will never regret trying Malaysian food.

This time around, I went to Malaysia with only one motive – to eat. I went to an infamous city named Penang, which is known for its mixture of the East and West, but yet, still embracing traditions and most importantly, FOOD.

So where did we stay and what did we have?

If you’re backpacking and looking for a high-end hostel on budget, I highly recommend Red Inn Hostel on Love Lane. The staff there is amazing and the rooms are exceptionally clean.
Food!Food!Food!

Gong Fu Chow.. Wide noodles, seafood and delicious sauce to top it off
Plus, the location is great. You are minutes walk from all the “Places to see” in Penang.

Ok, time to get back to the food. If you happen to stay in Red Inn, simply ask the front desk where the street food is and they will point you to hub of traditional Malaysian food that is literally a 2-minute walk away from the hostel.

If you’re looking for fancy, clean and expensive food, it’s probably best to hop in a cab and ask them to bring you to a nice hotel nearby. But if you’re looking for street food familiarity in Penang, then you’re at the right spot.

You’ll see many knockdown tables set up and street vendors hawking at you if you’d like to endeavor on their dish. Each stall has its own specialty, so I recommend trying…. ALL. I’m telling you, this is the best as it gets.
• Looking for great chow mein? Try my favorite… Chow Kwey Teow.
• Looking for soupy noodles? How about a little… Gong Fu Chow.
• Noodles with stronger flavor? Fukien Mee
• Something light but mouth-watering? Char Siu Kwon Lo Wanton Mee

Really… I can go forever here, but like
Food!Food!Food!

Curry puff... basically, curry biscuits.
I mentioned above… Try ALL!

OK now… who wants me to book tickets for them to Malaysia? *Wink*Wink*

Well, since I am still writing about Malaysia, I might as well tell you about my trip to Langkawi – a nice little island a couple hours away from Penang, on ferry. If you’re on budget and looking for a place to just relax, this is the place to be. The people are amazingly inviting, aside from the hotel staff, and place is just beautiful.

I stayed at Aseania Resort which was completely PINK. I DO NOT recommend this place to anybody. The rooms were old, ant-filled and just overall sub-par. The staff was impatient and the place justified itself by being completely empty – very few guests.

Anyway, besides the unpleasant stay at the resort, I did, however enjoyed strolling the beach – Pantai Cenang to be exact. It was white sand and blue waters. Though the water was not completely clear, it was clean due to the lack of marine traffic around the area.

If you’re in Langkawi, I highly recommend renting a moped and riding around the island. It’s one of the most relaxing
Food!Food!Food!

Roti Telur -- Indian pancakes with curry
and stress-relieving things you could experience. Imagine, palm trees, farm animals, the ocean and open roads – sound like a scene in some romantic movie?

If you’re looking for clear waters, snorkeling and scuba diving, go to one of the many travel agencies in the island and ask to venture Pulau Payar. It’s an hour ferry ride away to amazingly clear waters with various types of tropical fish which frequent the area.

How do I conclude this entry? Well, think about this: great food, welcoming people, amazing weather, white sand, palm trees, MOPEDS and fish feeding all on a budget – I’d say a pretty, prettayyy amazing trip (FYI, I spend no more than $350 for a 5-day trip).



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Food!Food!
Food!

Chow Kwey Teow -- what's left of it at least.
Food!Food!
Food!

Mee Goreng -- Kind of like your typical Lo Mein, but better!
Street FoodStreet Food
Street Food

All of the cooks were 55+plus. It's sad to think who takes over? I hope I can go back in 20 years, and the food is just as good.
PenangPenang
Penang

Georgetown
Beach in LangkawiBeach in Langkawi
Beach in Langkawi

Pantai Cenang
Clear WaterClear Water
Clear Water

Pulau Payar for snorkeling
Pulau PayarPulau Payar
Pulau Payar

Fish feeding -- they were huge
MopedsMopeds
Mopeds

moped-ing in the rain!


12th December 2010

Wah, delicious food ah? Can makan all ah? Ayah, makes my mouth water lah. U so bad. Don't put food photo next time, ok?

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb