Day 2: Penang Hill (Oct 2014)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
October 19th 2014
Published: December 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, 19th October 2014

I was probably up and about at around 7+ this morning. After a quick wash-up, I walked over to Sunway Hotel where we met for our morning swim. HP and KW were up early as well and it was nice that we had the empty pool to ourselves. The pool was really small and would only be good for the three of us.

After the swim, HP decided to head back to the room to rest while KW and myself went ahead with the complimentary breakfast at the hotel. Later on, we had lunch at New Lane before we went separate ways as they had to return back to Singapore in the afternoon.

With little difficulty, I took a public bus from Komtar to the bus stand at Penang Hill. Enroute, it passed by the massive Kek Lok Si Temple before reaching the Furnicular Train Terminus. Surprise surprise, there was not much of a queue to board the brand new train up the summit even though it was a weekend today. The whole journey took less than 10 minutes to complete at a rather hefty price tag of RM 30 for the return.

As touristy as it always was, I was happy to fulfil my wish since I did not had the chance to chill out at the top of Penang Hill during my prior visits. I was lucky in that the views from the top was closed to perfect with absolutely no haze, just clear blue skies greeting me from the horizon.

This was a perfect afternoon to be up on the hill, overlooking the grand vistas with a bowl of delicious chendol dessert.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb