A day in Georgetown, Penang


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
May 25th 2012
Published: June 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Getting close to portGetting close to portGetting close to port

Was excited to watch the whole jump onto our boat with the port master
You could kind of sense that our trip was quickly coming to an end. That being said, we had two more exciting ports to get off before we said goodbye to our delicious home on the seas. The first of which was Georgetown, Penang. It was going to be an odd type of day. For other ports we would arrive early in the morning and there wouldn’t be too much movement around as people would just wake up and organize getting off the ship. However today we were due to get into port at midday, so it had a different type of buzz about the day. It was in a way a lot of standing around waiting for the ship just to dock, and you could see the land so tantalizingly close as we dawdled into port.

Breakfast was a quieter event. It was actually quite lovely as with the party the night before, I’m sure a lot of people were sleeping in. All the more for me to eat …. Actually I had to be pretty proud of the fact I didn’t over do anything. It’s kind of funny, because if anything I did tend to under do things. Oh I should have lived on the edge slightly, but I was getting such a kick out of this slow type of pace … it’s so very different to what I’m used to, being a highly strung girl and all!

We didn’t actually do much this morning. We stood on the deck with the mob just watching the land get closer. Now the colour of the water was just beautiful as we headed into the Malaysian shore. It was a delightful turquoise and you kind of got the impression that if you went to a nice beach, it would be a tropical paradise. However with all paradises, add humans and it won’t last long. The amount of rubbish in the water was heartbreaking. Ok, so we weren’t going through slags of it, but within view you could see at least one bit of something at any given time. There was a foam box, bucket, numerous bits of cardboard and other such rubbish. Now the palm branches you could forgive the water for, as that’s all part of nature, but the rest, it was just sad really.

It was quite cute seeing another couple of cruise boats in the port as we arrived. They looked a touch tiny compared to our ship. I think one was a Princess Cruise line and the other Star Cruises. The husband did comment that I chose and awesome boat to sail on. Finally a hint of recognition for all the work I put into organizing this cruise. It was just a hint, that being said, because apparently I did spent way too much time pouring over details of it all, and he could have organized our entire trip in a week. Hmmmm ok, would like to have seen him communicating with all the potential tour guides I went through to get the ones that we used in just a week…. Some were just shocking getting back to you, and the ones I stumbled across and used, were brilliant. Anyway, enough of the domestic … We were going to be sharing a tour bus with two American Ladies today that I had met on the Cruise Critic website, and see the port together. Basically it’s cheaper in numbers 😊 For this stop I used a group called Ocean Jupiter tours. http://oceanjupiter.com/tours.html Now due to the time we were in port, we couldn’t actually do the set tour (which would have been quite a bit cheaper) Penang Hill/Kek Lok Si Temple, however we hired a van for the four of us on a 30RM per hour basis.

It was a touch tedious waiting in line to get off at this port. This was only because so many people were trying to all get off at once. I guess this was due to the number of people wide awake and unlike India there was no Visa requirements and this deterred some jumping off at the previous ports. Everyone wanted off for Penang it seemed. As we disembarked there were some Malaysian girls in their customary costumes welcoming us to their port. When we were walking along to the gates, we noted there were some people waiting with suitcases on the port. Apparently these were the missing dancers that couldn’t get on in Dubai for whatever reason. I think with the fact I didn’t go to the night time shows too often, I had no idea what they were talking about.

Finding out driver this time was a very simple task. We made our way along the dock and out the gates and before long we easily saw the sign with our name on, and allocated our driver. He asked us what we would like to see, and the only instructions I gave him was that we wanted to see the Clan Jetties, Kek Lok Si Temple and also ride up the Penang Hill Funicular. I must have given him those places in a completely different order, because he then informed us, ideally, the order given here was the best way to do all three, as it would make it a nice circular trip with no back tracking. He was the driver, he could do basically whatever he wanted I think!

The area around the dock was delightfully chaotic, with the sudden influx of tourists, combined with the taxi’s and tuk tuks wanting their business, as well as the buses trying to get out. Not sure why, but I just love that feeling of noise and business coupled with an air of excitement. I seemed to get the impression that the roads and driving was a lot more civilized here. Road rules seemed to be in place and it wasn’t quite as frantic as India.

First stop was the Clan Jetties which were just around the corner and not very far at all from the dock. It did worry me when the driver pulled up along a sign that read no parking, but it didn’t apply to him???? It was a hand written sign and I had wondered if he had an arrangement with the jetty gang, to park there. I hadn’t expected he would jump out and come with us. I kept forgetting that we were being given a bit of a tour, instead of just a taxi ride around town. He was actually quite informative about these jetties. I don’t know if I’m to actually believe him or not, but it was entertaining listening. Apparently the jetties are run by different gangs of Chinese. Each “clan” has their own turf, and you get born into the gangs, so everyone along the little strip were related. Police didn’t bother coming along that area due to the tight knit nature of everyone living there, it was a pointless exercise as they would all protect their own. Apparently the Chinese were the controlling force of the area, as they controlled the docks, especially with supplying labour. If they weren’t happy, the ships couldn’t dock and the supplies wouldn’t be able to be delivered, so it was a case that you want to keep these people happy. Another interesting thing he stated was that, we weren’t too be fooled by the poor looking living conditions they had. These people were actually rich and usually had expensive homes elsewhere. It all sounded very drug lordish in a way. As I said, it was entertaining, but I don’t exactly know if I would believe what he was saying.

The area was pretty in a way, but I think he actually scared me slightly, as I didn’t want to get caught up in some tribal dispute. I know that might sound a bit stupid, but with everything he was saying, I really couldn’t work out if he was legit or not, and it just seemed like the area had this different type of feel about it. He was a good story teller! It was good to get back to the vehicle that hadn’t been towed away. It was actually also yet another hot day, so the air conditioned van, was lovely.

Now as far as our set out itinerary was going to be we had imagined our next stop was the Kek Lok Si Temple. This was where our driver shone. He drove us past the Kapitan Keling Mosque, explaining that it was built in the early 19th Century by an Indian Muslim merchant. Being the Captain of the boat, he decided to build a mosque in this port, because I imagine he must have sailed here often or similar. It was the first mosque in the area and an important one for the people.

We were driven all around the streets that seemed to go in mostly a one way fashion, so there was what seemed a bit of driving around in circles. We ended up being taken to the Khoo Kongsi Chinese Temple. (10RM pp). We hadn’t quite expected to go to stops where you had to pay for entrance other than the Funicular, but luckily I had Malaysian dollars on us. Oh the big thing to note with Malaysia, especially as the two ladies who were with us for the day, is that the shops and things in this location don’t recognize $US. Which I found highly amusing, I guess because I came prepared, but it did leave Americans at a bit of a tizzy in these two ports. In the end we worked out that if we paid the entrance fees (or at least eventually worked out), the driver accepted US$, so the Americans would pay the 150Rm for the day (but in US), and it would cover all the entrance costs that we paid RM for along the way. I guess if you use this guide, who I do highly recommend, take spare cash for these additional mystery stops, which were PERFECT!

Initally we had a quick look in this room which apparently had the ancestral tree or something similar, but to the untrained eye it looked like loads of gold bullions lines up on rows showing all their wealth. I’m extremely untrained …. The actual temple itself, I made the mistake of trying to just go straight up to the top, and see the main event. I was quickly corrected, that we needed to go and have a look around the Museum section first to fully appreciate what you would see upstairs. By going in the museum you learn a lot about the actual clan whose temple it was. There are all homes around which our guide told us were for the keepers and security guards of the temple. Inside the museum they had this really big lit up photo of what it looks like at night. It was really impressive. Eventually we were given permission to climb up and have a look inside. I was just blown away with the art that they entwine with their buildings. Honestly it’s such a lost art these days.

Once we had taken our photos we were heading up to the Kek Lok Si Temple. Now it was around the school change over time. Apparently they send the kids to school in either a morning or afternoon option due to the large number of them all. Just meant for a bit of traffic, which is always fun. On the way up to the temple, we were driven past the Penang State Mosque. It was definitely a larger building than the Kapitan one, and apparently this was purposely done because the government at the time didn’t like everyone going to the Chinese built one, so built a “bigger and better” version. Had to love the information we were given as we were being driven along.

Now I can’t say I liked the hills we were driving up, but it was the quickest way to the top. Now the Kek Lok Si Temple is actually over several different layers up the side of the hill. You could spend the time walking up all the stairs, but hey, being driven to the top just as effective. I guess by this time we were starting to get in a way Templed out. The most impressive thing from the top other than the view was the construction going on in regards to shelter being built around the statue of Kuan Yin, their goddess of mercy. It was huge. The guide told us it was actually an exciting event for the people that lived there as helicopters had to come in and assist with the placement of the pillars. Now the main thing I wanted to see here, and after reading about it on trip advisor and other such websites were the Koi fish. I made my way over to their pond, sheltering myself with my umbrella as it was so bright and hot, and I was just so disappointed. I think someone forgot to clean the fish pond for the past couple of years! Instead of crystal clear waters and this amazing arrangement of beautiful coloured fish, it was more fish soup I think. Yes you could see the fish and all, but I think they were swimming in a sea of green gook! Maybe the water features of Dubai raised my expectations of all water features from now on. Not sure, I just remember thinking the water was disgusting. I didn’t think it was that peaceful a place due to this, but again, its probably my opinion and others will think otherwise.

We were invited to pay for a ribbon to hang on the wishing tree, but they had all these pre-selected wishes. So you had the typical world peace, riches, health and other such fun things. Maybe I should have put a ribbon up there, but I didn’t feel the urge on the day, so kept looking around. There was also the option of sponsoring a tile to be used on the roof of one of the many construction sites they had going. We declined that offer as well.

Next we were off to the Penang Hill Funicular. Our guide dropped us off and told me that if I just dialed his number and let it ring a couple of times, he would then return to pick us up, but I should dial before jumping back down from the top. There was very limited parking in the area and it was a tourist magnet. People were everywhere. Again, this is a place that only accepts RM money. They don’t even accept credit cards, so be warned. I really can’t remember what this cost us, but we happily paid, and they had wonderful air conditioning as we waited for the next available train. As we entered the waiting bay, it was quite a somber mood. There were a row of bench seats along the outside of a rectangle room, and people just sitting on those seats. I noticed near the door and waiting to standing up were some people we knew from the boat. This included the couple that we had travelled with in India in taxi’s for the day. So I went over and we were chatting as to what they were all doing and where they had been. Apparently the botanical gardens was a place to go, and they had monkeys there. Sounded like fun, unfortunately we never made it there, but saw so much that it didn’t really matter.

It was when the train arrived back into the station that a bit of drama unfolded. Some lady who had previously been seated decided then to jump up and came storming over to us and it was actually really rudely told us to get to the end of the line, as everyone was queued and we were line jumpers. Ok …. I was just taken back and hoped she wasn’t someone from our boat (with two others also in port, maybe not). Honestly it wasn’t that big an issue as going to the end of the line was what we were going to be doing anyway, but wow! Somebody definitely had gotten out of bed on the wrong side that morning. It was really funny, because in the end everyone was able to board on the same train, and we got the most perfect position in the last carriage so had the amazing view on the way up. Thankfully she wasn’t in our carriage.

Riding up the funicular was something different. It was such a long way up! It was slightly dizzying, but not too bad. Going up was definitely going to be nicer than going down I think. When we got to the top, we walked around then made our way over to the view looking out across the city. It was so cool seeing our boat in the distance. There was also this really long bridge which connected the island to the mainland. Thankfully, I wasn’t going to be driving across it. Didn’t look like there would be much on the other side anyway. In one of the bins there was a cheeky little monkey that kept jumping in, grabbing out discarded bags and going through them all littering over the ground as it went looking for food. It was pretty funny. We stayed up there for a little while then decided it might be time to go and see what else we could see. So I phoned the driver and seamlessly jumped back in the van when we made it to the bottom.

Now we didn’t have any other set ideas for the rest of our time, and one of the American Ladies had wanted to visit a Tea Plantation if there were any close. Now I had no idea, so I asked him if he knew. He said that on our way there was a tea factory, where they packed tea. Now this wasn’t what we had exactly meant, but we thought we would have a look anyway. There were two different shops. The first was all Tea and local Honey. For whatever reason we received a sticker as we walked in. They seem to like their stickers …. Must translate to easy picking or something? The honey was lovely, but didn’t like the idea of a broken bottle to deal with in my luggage, so headed over to the next shop which was coffee and chocolate. The actual shop was called the Coffee Tree (www.coffee-3.com) Now this was my type of store. As soon as we entered we were given a small cup and received some vanilla coffee to try. It was so very hot, but very yummy. We were barely finished that as we walked around the room, before the girl who must have then been assigned to us then starts pouring out tiramisu flavoured coffee. It was quite funny. Trying to drink the overly hot coffee isn’t a stong point with me as I love the take my time til it all cools down. I persisted, to then suddenly find myself with a sample of the coconut coffee. We had to run away from that area and headed over to look at the chocolates, but our girl was calling for us asking if we wanted to try the hot chocolates … um maybe not at the moment! We were then given some of the chocolates to try. Now these were actually really good as well. That being said they were quite pricy (A$14.60), but feeling I guess sorry for the fact we were being so well looked after we bought a packet of the tiramisu Chocolate Almonds. Didn’t quite know how well it would cope in the heat of the van, but we’d give it a whirl.

After this stop we were taken over to look in the Crown Pewter Shop. It wasn’t the big branded Pewter that is renown through the area, it was more a family business. That being said, Robert still walked out with a pewter pen for himself. One of the other girls I classify as a pretty cool shopper because she walked out with two fairly expensive items. (Best thing I’ve seen bought to date, would still have to be a Cuckoo clock purchase in Europe, oh and definitely wasn’t me!). We were given a welcome drink when we arrived. It wasn’t a nice drink. Wish I had declined. It was a cold, actually not sure what it was, other than liquid and cold.

After this stop we were driven to the Reclining Buddha temple. It was double bang for your money as across the road was a Burmese temple, which looked stunning. However first we were to check out the laying down Buddha. As with all the temples you had to remove your shoes if you wanted to have a look around. That kind of ruled me out. Wearing sneakers it wasn’t like it was the easiest thing to take on and off, so I just walked around the building and you could see in the windows so it wasn’t too bad. It made us laugh that there was a sign at the front that warned us to beware of shoe thieves. Our guide assured us that we could feel safe, he would make sure they weren’t stolen. Looking around this area, there was a monk sweeping the leaves away, as well as an odd chicken lady that I just had to take a photo of. I was just dying to get across to the Thai temple. It was a touch sad there were beggars which were permitted to sit in the grounds of the temple begging.

Walking across the road, it had to be noticed that the Burmese temple had a completely different feel about it. It was a lot nicer. The entrance had a pile of stalls selling a whole range of items. There were some paintings that Robert couldn’t resist, and we brought one home. It was a lot cheaper than the ones on the boat I guess. Walking up to one of the temples, I couldn’t help but take a photo of the guests that had ignored the no shoes allowed sign and continued to walk on up and look around a temple. I had thought it was quite rude of them, but someone pointed out that at the start of our tour our guide had ignored a sign in relation to no parking. That being said, I guess as far as religion goes respect I think should be given if visiting other cultures that you
where we parked! where we parked! where we parked!

Couldn't believe we parked here, but didn't know if this sign was for normal people or what it included. The guide felt comfortable parking here and leaving the van, so who knows what he paid for the experience.
are sensitive to their requests. Road rules, well … I wasn’t driving and had I been, there is no way I’d park and leave my car in any spot it said no parking!

After having a look at that, I walked over to their little fish pond. At least the water was a touch clearer, they also had this smaller water area that had a bundle of turtles that called it home. They were really cute. There was a big bell that apparently if you ring it with the big log they provide it will give you good luck. I think its good luck if you can get the bell ringing nicely. Mine was a rather pathetic attempt. The globe of the world was cute to see where we were, where home was, and where we had travelled from. It was from that point we went and had a look at the main temple. Now that was just stunning. Again the workmanship in everything about the temple was just amazing. The wooden carved roof took my breath away, and hopefully the photo can give you a small idea as to what we saw. There was a monk or whatever they are called kind of sleeping on a chair guarding the goddess(?). Out of all the temples I had seen, I believe I liked this one the most. It was beautiful.

Now at some stage along the way, I’m not exactly at which point it was but we were also taken to a Batik demonstration and shop. Now the clothes they had for sale at this shop were a little bit, well if I just state, they weren’t my style I can’t get in trouble. The shirts for men especially I found highly entertaining, as they were just so loud and out there. I can imagine them being worn my drunken tourists on the beaches of Bali. The demonstration was interesting though, and it was nice to be able to get the chance to have a look around.

Our last stop of the day was yet another destination we didn’t know we would want to visit. It was to be the Pinang Peranakan Museum. Entrance fees were 10RM per person. We gained another sticker for the privilege. Now it was actually quite an amazing building. Or maybe it was the furniture that was the stunning part .. so many amazing bits and pieces throughout the rooms that I would love to take home and put into, well I guess not my home, and maybe my own mansion to decorate. Just the detail in the work was again mind blowing. What has happened to objects in Australia that they can’t be so pretty, and skilled? I had a look around the bottom floor. Upstairs was a no shoe zone so that ruled me out. I went out the back instead and checked out the kitchen and back dining room, which looked amazing. Apparently people can rent out the back room for entertaining, and there was to be a function that night, so you couldn’t walk around it.

When I thought it was time to start heading back to the boat, I couldn’t find any of the others. I went into the shop, which meant I bumped into the shopping one of the two ladies we travelled with. It was then discovered that the other two, my husband being one of them were upstairs having a look around. I guess the time was slowly slipping away, and I didn’t really want to yell for them. It was a case however of standing around waiting for a glimpse so that I could then call out to inform them, we needed to head back to the van and our ship. They eventually made their way down. It was when we went out to the van that we noticed on all the bamboo that people had found a colourful way to dispose of their stickers by sticking them on the stalks of bamboo. It looked so pretty like that.

When we arrived back to the port, we took a photo of the driver, because seriously he went above and beyond on our time in Georgetown. Then we tried to find where to get in. We initially went off the wrong way, before finding the entrance that we actually had come out from, and head back onboard. Going through the gates I bumped into Jeff & Roberta, and found out what they got up to during the day. Seemed we were always going to bump into them throughout entire trip, which was nice.

Back onboard, we discovered that for the following day, a couple that were going to be coming with us on the tour I had organized in KL weren’t
protective dogprotective dogprotective dog

he didn't scare me off though
going to be able to make it, as one of them was in quarantine due to being sick. This meant that we were able to invite the British couple we were having a ball with. I was still completely freaking out over the couple that came up to us at the Ice Skating and worried over the potential fight that would happen in the morning when I told them I have no idea who they were.

After dinner instead of bothering with the ships entertainment, Kevin and Julie played a board game with us up in the High Notes Bar. It was a bit of fun, and unfortunately I’m a right handicap and any type of game so I made Kevin lose with me. Oh well, these things happen I guess. It wasn’t too late a night in the end I guess, and tomorrow was going to be the oddest day yet. Our final port and final night onboard. How the emotions totally mixed over ending the cruise!


Additional photos below
Photos: 99, Displayed: 41


Advertisement



Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 14; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb