Penang


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
April 19th 2006
Published: April 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wild ManWild ManWild Man

I think tri-corner hats suit me.
I love Penang. We've been here about a week I guess. It's definitely the longest we've stayed anywhere. Just outside of town is Malaysia's largest Buddhist temple. It is truly .... big. It's a series of temples really. Each one is more impressive than the next. Lots and lots of very large jolly fat men. I think the buddhists would really like Christmas. They're also big fans of turtles. I think this has a lot to do with the turtle's reputation for perpetual jolliness. There were a couple pools full of turtles. One pool in particular seemed to have more turtles than water. The turtles seemed happy though.

Georgetown is where we've been spending pretty much all our time. It's a tiny little city and very picturesque. It's got an old fort that no one ever used for fighting. It's in real good shape so we visited that. The architecture here, outside of the temples, is old British and Dutch. One person who bucked the trend, Mr. Cheng Fatt Tze, has a fantastic old mansion in town. He was apparently ridiculously wealthy. We visited just his Penang mansion. It was his favorite house and the home of his favorite wife (Numero 7!). He had wives spread out all over the place. You can stay in the mansion now. If I had more than a $25 a day budget we'd be staying there right now. I'm bored. Fi can add more details.

The mansion is amazing! It is done in an old Chinese style with western influences. According to the tour guide we had, it was very Feng Shui approved. Whatever it was, I liked it! We also checked out a reclining Buddha in a Thai Buddhist temple followed up by a Burmese Buddhist temple. We have seen a lot of gold in the last couple of days.

The place that we are staying at is really cool. It's called Stardust and the chilled out owner plays movies every night. He often lets us pick the movie. I think we are his favourite guests! The fact that we seem to have trouble leaving is probably helping too.

I really like Malaysia but Penang has made me fall in love with it. - Fi




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

DragonDragon
Dragon

... holding a ping pong ball.
Fat Tze's MansionFat Tze's Mansion
Fat Tze's Mansion

Not his actual means of transportation.
TurtlesTurtles
Turtles

That's Leonardo in the middle. Michelangelo's on the end with the slice of pizza. :-0


19th April 2006

Wow!
Where's Master Splinter? :) I'm not sure if turtle has the same meaning there, but here, on April 8th(I think) Buddists write hopes and wishes on turtles' shell and free them which is kind of a practice of showing mercy (not only turtles but also other hunted animals) and of refraining meat. ( I hope I didn't make any grammatical errors, Gabu sun-saeng-nim) :)
23rd April 2006

Hi Guys It looks fabulous. I am not sure Gabe would have made a good early American in a three corner hat and gun. We enjoy the comentaries and photos. never thought of Fi as a tree hugger. Love you both
6th July 2006

oh gabe you look lovely in that three cornered hat! very american...good job

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb