Average George Town


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
December 7th 2006
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a long bus journey we found ourselves at George Town on the island of Penang. It was late. Feeling tired, hungry and struggling to find any cheap/decent accommodation. Our Penang experience didn’t start off in the best way.

Eventually we found a room and had at chat with a travelling Filipino band who advised us of the local night spots which we decided to explore. There is precious little to do in the daytime (or night time). Perhaps the main attractions are the Museum and the reconstructed fort Cornwallis. The museum was full of the usual Asian pottery, but did have an interesting exhibition detailing how people from many different races and regions contributed to society, throughout George Town’s colonial history. There were no real surprises.

For me George Town is not worth visiting and I’m not sure why this place is on the ’tourist trail’. It’s not a good sign when I look back at my time spent here and my highlight of George Town was probably the mixed grill we had from one of the few good restaurants we found!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



10th March 2007

Penang
Hi Toni Lee from Manc comms, I see your having a great time. I was based in Kuala Lumpur in 1990 for a few months, I went to Penang with a mate of mine. We got there and was wondering why there were so many couples ! It is a honeymoon island, me and my mate felt out of place with all the normal couples there. We also spent time in Singapore and a lot of nights drinking and eating in the Kuala Lumpur City. I would love to take the wife and kids out there one day again. I loved it out there aswell as Kenya, Sicily, Oman, Dubai, Kuwait, Ethiopia and many others, all were business trips but we had time to see other cultures and places to visit. Anyway take care, continue to have a great time and have one on me. Regards Lee P.S Your not missing much back here at ADT, nothing changes its always the same. The 4 on 4 of keeps me there.

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 105; dbt: 0.1157s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb