The Longest Dragon in Malaysia... and Dinosaurs!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Kuantan
March 2nd 2016
Published: May 11th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Living overseas it's easy to get into a routine and to miss out on some of the things in your area. I've been here a year and a half and I just heard about the LaoZi temple. I like temples. They're usually quite peaceful and pretty. But this one was special and only half an hour from my house.

Winding down a road, I parked, and realized I was looking at the dragon's tail. There's an ticket booth, but it's empty. In reality you pay at the end. I walked into the dragon's tail and enjoyed the breeze and blue sky overhead. There was artwork on the walls, each section with a different theme. After winding around for ages, and being spooked a little by dried leaves blowing in the wind (it's really quiet otherwise) I finally exited the dragon's mouth. And paid they guy who was waiting for me. And then was free to walk around the area, taking photos of all the statues.

The family that runs it is lovely and chatted with me a bit, making sure that I enjoyed myself, the temple, Malaysia, and that I took photos. It wasn't a long visit, but it certainly was a memorable one!


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

See, proof!See, proof!
See, proof!

It IS the longest. The sign says so.
Tall tailTall tail
Tall tail

hahaha
Out the mouth!Out the mouth!
Out the mouth!

You can see the guy waiting for me to come out so he can collect my money.


31st July 2017

I really miss your blog posts...
Hi Kris, I hope you're doing well. Are you still living and teaching in Asia? Any chance you might start blogging again? :D
31st July 2017

I'm still here!
Hi Seth, Thanks for reaching out. I'm still here, just working twice as much as before. Lots of stories to tell. Hopefully I'll get around to sharing some of them soon. Cheers
26th June 2019

I also miss your posts...
how about an update of what you've been up to since your last blog when you were taking a break?
27th June 2019

I'm still here!
Hi Bob, Thanks for saying hi. I'm still overseas, taking a break that's turned into a very extended break. Hopefully I'll get back to blogging again, but it might be a while yet. I'll let you know if and when I do :)

Tot: 0.398s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 16; qc: 88; dbt: 0.3054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb