Checking Out The Rainforest From High Above The Ground


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Kuala Tahan
August 27th 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Nothing better to start the day then a long stroll through the humid rainforest. Encountering insects and birds in abundance around the dense vegetation. Our guide for the day gave a very naturist view of the forest from flora and fauna unique to Malaysia alone to the seasonal affects that bearly change all year round. First task was to climb up to Bukit Teresik about 344m up to see some spectacular views of the forest afar. Then proceeded to the canopy walk, which made me tremble to just to imagine being that high up.
Low and behold in the sweaty state I was in I climb the tower to the start, the first bridge all good only 10m max up, then began the second this time almost 50m.... To think all that was standing between me and certain death was a board about an inch thich suspended with a ropes below and above to support and to hold as you went. I know now why they say 10metres apart and only four max on the bridge at at time. Finally after 6 bridges my knees were trembling but I made it and only another 2km walk back out to the headquarters to think about.
I had planned to do a night walk but the weather took a turn for the worsed, so they called it off and with no alcohol to fuel the evening the German, a Japanese lad and myself sat down in th floating restaurant trading in tales of travel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb