Farewell Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Kedah & Perlis » Pulau Langkawi
February 16th 2006
Published: February 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's Thursday evening, February 16 and I'm on Langkawi, an island in Malaysia near the Thailand border.

I've been making my way north through Malaysia, primarily by bus. I have stopped in Ipoh, Penang, and now Langkawi. It's harder to spend as much time with updates when I'm on the move. Sorry for lagging!

My impression of Malaysia really hasn't changed, although Langkawi is a definite improvement. Malaysia has been oppressively hot, humid, and dirty. Being on the beach now helps though. 😊

But not enough to stay in Malaysia. I leave tomorrow. Where am I going? Tomorrow I take a ferry from Langkawi to Satun province in Thailand. My destination is Koh Lipe, an island that is not very accessible. From what I have read, there is only limited electricity, no ATMs, no banks, and no big resorts (only bungalow operations). There are at least 2 internet spots on the island though so I'll manage to get an update at some point in the next few days (no guarantees on photos though).

At the moment I'm on a computer with an old version of Windows that does not recognize my camera. Therefore, I'm having to download new drivers so I will be able to upload photos from my camera. Considering this place closes in 30 minutes, that's not a good thing. The connection speed is horrible as well. Doesn't look good for photos.

Sorry for the quick update...

Dave is moving too fast!

Look! There goes Dave!




Advertisement



16th February 2006

Pics
Dave-your photography is really great. I can see why those folks wanted to see them. Very impressive and great to see the things you have seen. Really enjoying your travels!! Glenn :->
18th February 2006

chiang mai
yo dave it be frazer! how you doing bud? im in chiang mai and i will eat a banana pancake. just got here so we'll see how it goes. ive heard ko lipe is great! really quiet and really laid back. have fun and maybe we'll run into eachother along our travels.
12th February 2008

Not enough to stay in Malaysia?
Hi Dave, I know it's 2008 now, but I bumped into your blog as I was doing some net surfing on Koh Lipe. :) Somewhat, I felt the urge to post a comment to you about you commenting on my country Malaysia. There ARE plenty to see if you stay long enough. So many towns and islands you've yet to discover, as from what I read in your entry, you've only been to like 3 places??? You have not checked out the wonderful gems on our east coast, what about the Borneo? Just a short note to share with you. Trust me that you've seen nothing yet if you've only been to Ipoh, Penang and Langkawi and made that comment. In fact, I've just came back from Langkawi myself. Well, all in all..to each his own. Perhaps Malaysia just isn't your cup of tea. Cheers.

Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 96; dbt: 0.1314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb