How to fill one very rainy day


Advertisement
Macau's flag
Asia » Macau » Macau
August 18th 2011
Published: September 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I stayed up late last night watching a movie so today I slept in really late. I did most of the sight-seeing I care to see, so a new plan was needed for the day.

I went to Margaret's for brunch but was disappointed to see that they don't have an actual breakfast menu. So I ended up with a delicious (but too large) sandwich and egg tarts. But I think we all know the egg tarts are the main reason to come!

I took a bus south and across the bridge to Taipa, another part of Macau. I planned to spend the day there and then return after dinner. I wandered, I looked, I got lost.

Just when I wasn't sure what to do next, I stopped on some stairs and pulled out my map. Suddenly, the sky opened up and buckets of rain fell. I ran down the stairs to the only shelter I sara, a tiny shrine. I felt quite out of place, but it was warm and dry, and luckily no passersby seemed to mind. The shrine was like a hollowed out space the size of my kitchen table with incense hanging on the walls and smoke in the air. A man came wearing a necklace that played temple music. He said his prayers and I did my best to stay out of his way. He seemed grateful for this, but I was just happy he didn't kick me out of the one square meter of space we were sharing.

After the rain let up I looked around for anything else to see or do. I decided there was nothing left for me in Taipa. So I hopped on a bus and went back to my hotel and took a nice long nap.

After napping, I ventured out for my last bit of Macau. I found a bench next to a fountain and read the rest of the afternoon, soaking in the last sunlight of the day. For dinner I had crab and shrimp curry. And then, gelato.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Refuge!Refuge!
Refuge!

See how tiny it is?
Yum!Yum!
Yum!

This is enough for two people. And I ate it all.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb