To Macau and Back


Advertisement
Macau's flag
Asia » Macau » Macau
April 10th 2011
Published: April 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Pastry Chef 19 secs
I just returned from Macau! I have been quite busy for the last month and have a lot of material now to catch everyone up on. My trip was what foreigners here call a “visa run.” This is when my legal stay in China is about up and I need to leave and return. My duration of stay is limited to 90 days so I have to take small trips to be here legally. It is inconvenient and a blessing at the same time. Because of this I get to see some parts of the world I wouldn’t have otherwise.

Macau is one of the top 50 densest cities in the world. I didn’t know this before I went but I could feel it. The streets are narrow and all the buildings are tall. The residential areas are amazingly dense with many very tall apartment buildings side by side. It is technically a colony of China but not part of Mainland China. It was once controlled by Portugal and all signs and warning labels are written in Chinese characters and Portuguese.
We went to a very famous local pastry shop where almost all tourists of Macau go to for treats. The video features one of their popular snacks being made. They let you sample almost anything and you could get a meal in from just snacking on treats.

We did a lot of things and my feet were very sore from all the walking when I returned to Shanghai. I will be updating everyone on what else I have been up to the last few weeks soon so keep looking for more entries!




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Tourist LaneTourist Lane
Tourist Lane

Many shops and restaurants
Popular Food StandPopular Food Stand
Popular Food Stand

Mostly processed meats
Pastry ShopPastry Shop
Pastry Shop

The most popular in the area
Chinese DesertChinese Desert
Chinese Desert

Red Beans on Milk Moussse


10th April 2011

yum
Looks like some good food! Sounds like you had a good trip. Did you travel alone? We are getting ready to make a 'visa run' ourselves. We are going to Panama the first week of May. Keep up the good work over there. 再见
12th April 2011

I dont know about the red beans dessert. I would probably pass on thta one. Was this your first "visa run"?
13th April 2011

This was my first Visa Run. I will have to do one more before internship is over.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb