An Introduction to Laos 20th Century History...


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos
January 6th 2017
Published: January 6th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first observance rather than outright celebration. Pathet Lao Day is celebrated/remembered in Laos on the 6th January. I was determined to find out what Pathet Lao is, why it's remembered and why it's celebrated/remembered today - as well as having a little more information about a country that I honestly know nothing about. There aren't any particular ways of commemorating the day. So I have taken this opportunity to read a bit about it. There's not much reading and documentary watching that can be done in a day, but it's a start.

My friend Laura, who I am visiting, knew two things about Laos (two more than me 😊 one: it's capital city is Vientiane, and two there was once a Laotian family in King of the Hill. Beyond that she knew as little as me about the culture and history of the country.



So what is Pathet Lao? A holiday to remember Pathet Lao (ປະເທດລາວ, "Lao Nation"), a communist political movement and organisation that was formed in the 50's under a different name (but no one remembers that name. in the mid-seventies they had successfully taken over power after the Laotian Civil War and were closely connected to the Vietnamese communists (at times it was organised, equipped and led by the North Vietnamese army).

It was a proxy war, Pathet Lao supported by the communist countries, and the Royal Lao government on the other side. Both got a lot of support from their allies. It was known as the Secret War by the CIA and Hmong veterans of the conflict but for the most part it seems to have been forgotten. 22 years after the end of the war, the US formally acknowledged it's role in the war, and there is now a memorial in Arlington between JF Kennedy Eternal Flame and the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. I can only guess this is because it was a much quieter affair than the Vietnamese war that was fought at the same time.

The wikipedia page is quite dry and isn't reference as much as I would like for my lessons. It does talk about the Ho Chi Min trail that went through the forests of Lao.





I have not been able to find out why today is celebrated as Pathet Lao Day, but if anybody know, please message me or tweet me @fighiggins.





Other celebrations/events today. Christians celebrate Epiphany in various forms Þrettándinn in Iceland is celebrated with elf bonfires and elf dances, Ireland has Nollaig na mBan (Women's Little Christmas), Spain is visited by the three kings, Armenia celebrates Christmas and Russia celebrates Christmas Eve. Non Christmas celebrations include Iraq's Armed Forces Day.



Tomorrow I will be celebrating a very Russian Christmas. Lots of food photos!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb