Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
March 20th 2015
Published: June 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Arriving at Vientiane, the capital of Laos, in the late afternoon, Stephanie, Thomas and I found a cute little hostel in the centre of the city. The next two day we decided to rent fancy bikes to discover the beauties of the city. We visited all the Buddhist temples and other monuments, "dont" the famous Wat Si Saket, known as the oldest temple in the capital and Patuxia, Vientians replica of the Arc de Triomphe.

Vientiane isn't only the capital of Laos, it is also and mainly the city where my grandmother, Samboun (second wife of maternal grandfather) comes from. Samboun returned to live for a few months in her home country after my grandfather passed away. Stephanie and I were very lucky to have our own private guide in this city. Samboun brought us to the house she used to live in with my grandfather. However it is now from a Vietnamese familly, they gently let us visit the surroundings of the house and Samboun explained me how it used to be. Afterwards, we went to some friends of her for a little coffee. I spent the afternoon alone with my grandmother. We went to visit her family and see her Lao home, a few kilometres from Vientiane. I was so happy that I could meet her family. She welcomed me in her world with open arms and with so much love. I felt also very lucky as I'm the first one of my family to meet all her familly. The next day Samboun picked us up at our hostel with a friend of her and we ate in a very cute little restaurant. We finished the day at the home of her friend with a little tea. It was really amazing and lovely to see my Samboun and I left Vientaine fully resourced of family love.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb