It's a Celebration


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
November 22nd 2010
Published: December 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

When I bought my ticket to Vientiane from Vang Vieng the guy asked if I wanted the VIP bus or the regular bus. I know the regular bus from at the border you are certain to have bags of rice under your feet and chickens not far off, so I chose the VIP bus. When they picked me up and took me to the bus station there was only one bus, the regular bus. All I could do was shake my head and get on. It's not like I was going to miss the bus to go back to the guy who sold me the ticket and yell at him, and he probably knew it which is why he sold me the fictional upgrade. The bus was slow and the roads where worse. There was no AC and only a few windows opened which allowed more dirt to fly through than one could think possible. The first night we went to the carnival/fair, I don't really know what it was but it was being held because it was the 350th year that the city has been the capital, or something like that. It seemed rather trivial to me, but the locals seemed to be loving it. The next day we were trying to find something to do, anything at all. The number one suggestion by LP and number two by Trip Advisor is to go see the Laos National Museum. Sadly I did go, and it had to be the worst museum I have ever been to. The only positive I can say about it was that it wasted time. The rest of the day was spent aimlessly walking around. We decided that we were going to get out of Vientiane earlier than either of us planned. The guy I was traveling with was going to the 4000 islands which I have heard only good things about, I decided I had had enough of Laos and was going to go back to Bangkok where I would get my visa for Myanmar. With that I went on a night bus to Bangkok and left Vientiane, probably the most boring city I have ever been.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb