Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
January 4th 2010
Published: January 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After wandering the streets of Vientiane for the weekend, I felt it would be a wonderful idea to rent a bike and visit some of the sights.

On Monday morning I strolled on in and seeing as there were no mountains in sight, I opted again for the shopping bike over the mountain variety.
Having envisioned myself cycling graciously down quiet streets, past tuk-tuks and push carts laden with oranges and tamarind,It was a slap in the face to discover the weekday traffic was nothing like that of the meandering weekend crowd. My knuckles turned white and my teeth clenched tightly.
The fact that they drive on the wrong side of the road was an instant hurdle, the fact I had no idea where I was heading didn't help and when I found myself hurtling down a one way street, you can guess which direction I, of course, was travelling.

My grand idea all of a sudden seemed rather stupid.

With a little creativity I found my way and by nightfall was zipping through the backstreets like a mouse in maze. A mouse searching for the cheese, which in this case happened to be the The Laos Traditional Cultural Show.
I'd made a reservation when out walking last night and for the life of me, couldn't remember which street it was in....well actually I was sure I knew where it was, it just appeared that someone had moved it.
After thinking I maybe had actually lost the plot, I found it. Right in the spot you find most things, exactly where you left them.

I parked my bicycle out the front of the grand looking venue and waltzed inside.
My shoes were checked in to the shoe man and I was ushered to my table, the only table in the room that was set for one.
In the corner of the room musicians played on various percussion instruments which resembled bamboo suspension bridges and sounded like glockenspiels

Dried Mekong river weed and peanuts accompanied my BeerLaos.
The show began and so did the food. Had there been 6 people at my table, there would no doubt had been enough food, but this was all for little old me!
I recognised most of it from my cooking class in Luang Prabang. The Laos sausage with the strong hit of lemongrass, fish baked with dill and basil, crisp spring rolls, crunchy chicken parts, the herby taste of fish laap, ginger chicken and of course; a basket of sticky rice.
I looked at the food and was full.

The show was colourful and the food did not disappoint.








Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

My whopping PizzaMy whopping Pizza
My whopping Pizza

Anchovies and olives...and I ate the lot!


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb