A few quick days in Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
January 3rd 2006
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A few quick days in Vientiane. The captial of Laos, as laid-back as capitals come, a colonial city slumped on the banks of the Mekong. Small dusty with the ubiquitous temples and tuk-tuks. Just out of the city there is one of the weirdest parks I have ever been to, surreal statues of Buddhist and Hindu folklore, complete with a Hellmouth. I searched around for my very own Buffy but didn't find her. The rest of the time I spent talking with Dave and Stefan in some of the many French inspired cafes or bars. A trip to "On the Rock" where a Lao covers band crooned out many a balad popular with the Ladies in the audience and then made a perfect rendition of "Hotel California" - they were good but I have to conclude that there is no rock on the rock. Spent an hour killing mosquitoes in my room before sleeping.

I caught an overnight bus down to Pakse and on to Don Det after a day or two.

Over to a photo blog and selected highlights from Vientiane.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



14th January 2006

eureka!
I've seen pictures of that Hellmouth dude. I'm definitely putting Buddha Park on my list.
18th November 2010
Cobra Whisky, Vientiane

want to buy cobra whisky
would like to buy cobra whisky an have it ship to usa

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb