Vientiane (Viang Chan)


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
March 15th 2014
Published: April 28th 2020
Edit Blog Post

View from Patuxai.



Vientiane was the capital of Laos during French rule. It is now the economic center of Laos.







The Mekong and Thailand in the backdrop.


"The night bus dropped me off in Vientiane instead of Vang Vieng...These bus rides are not for the weak of heart. Feeling tired and lost.... I'll just wait for a bit and then proceed. Yesterday was a nice day with Alex. It was just dragged out a bit too long. My high expectations for things and events caused me to become upset when things are not up to par.
Went for a massage today to make up to myself for that nasty bus ride the other night. The girl who massaged me was cute. For the first time ever a woman touched my scars and saw it. Although, I didn't know her real reactions, I could care less. I feel so liberated."
Journal Entry: 03.15.2014


"I have fallen for Vientiane's charm. Its a very laid back city. I find it hard to leave...Looking for reasons to stay another day.
Ying is a good kid. He will go far in life. He has that aura of greatness. I wish him the best and gave him all the knowledge I have to help him pursue his dreams. Reminded me to continue to be me even when the world turns upside down. After watching actions for the last day...sitting thru the discomforts that life brings without seeking comfort. This will be the hardest thing I've ever dealt with in life, but in order for me to move forward in life this is something I want to do for myself. Because I love and respect myself"
Journal Entry: 03.17.2014


"Made a decision to stay another night in Vientiane. I feel like I have not even scratched the surface of this place yet...but I'll do what I can. We humans are adaptable creatures. I learned the differences between Modernization and Westernization. These Southeast Asian countries may have other culture's influences, but that doesn't mean they are forgetting theirs."
Journal Entry: 03.18.2014


The Best Damn Futball Club in the world...







Futball is quite popular in Laos, especially the English Premier League. I went to a Manchester United game viewing with some local friends in Vientiane. I forgot who they were playing, but it was good time nonetheless and everyone was into it. The goal keeper of the Laos national team was there as well. He was downing a couple of beers with some fans. I wonder how well his training is going...


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb