My bags are packed, I'm ready to go...


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
July 31st 2004
Published: July 31st 2004
Edit Blog Post

Well, yesterday was the last day of my working career in Laos; I have very mixed feelings about going.  Obviously, I'm excited abut heading to Europe to teach but I'm going to miss everyone here alot.
I have spent the morning doing mundane things like throwing out old pairs of shoes that I forgot I owned and cleaning out the refridgerator.  Very exciting stuff!  I caught a tuk-tuk down to the post office and have sent a bunch of photos home.  $US27!!  Seemed kinda expensive to me for 4kg of stuff but maybe I'm just so used to everything being ultra cheap here that when I see double figures I'm like - what the #$Z%!!(MISSING)! 
Yesterday turned out to be a really sad day.  One of the students from school died overnight.  She'd been in hospital with Dengue Fever.  She had a temperature of 42 degrees and eventually her heart just stopped.  The local hospital doesn't seem know how to treat serious cases of Dengue.  With it being so prevalent I don't understand why one of the hundred of NGO's here or another country hasn't help to set up an effective treatment centre.  They can fund this and that but where are the priorities?  I don't know how sound my thoughts are on the issue - I'm just really upset about what's happened.  It seems so needless.
Tomorrow I hit the road. 
 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb