Lao eat dog world


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
December 23rd 2014
Published: December 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

So the staff told me that dog tastes better than chicken... also, there is a dog stand just off our street and I have to pass it if I want to go anywhere. At first I said no way, but it's normal over here and I should try new foods, right? I might try it..we'll see though. Yesterday I woke up at 5. I went to bed at 8 though. I can't stay up past that time no matter how hard I try. Jetlag will be over soon, I hope. I ate some breakfast and around 8 Sai and I rode on his motorcycle to the farm. From now on I have to ride a bike since I know where it's at. It's about a 30 minute bike ride, which isn't bad considering the view. He showed me around the farm at the different "zones". Where the vegetables are, mango trees, fruits, etc. We then got some water from the well and watered the plants and got straight to cutting weeds with a scythe. It wasn't bad at first, but after an hour I could feel the muay sun and my body already aching. We took many breaks throughout the day, which was really nice. At lunch time we talked and enjoyed the pretty view, plus the shade! After lunch we worked for a couple more hours and then went back to the house. Then I just studied some Lao words and waited for dinner, trying to fight off a nap. Once I showered and ate I unwillingly went to bed at 7.. I'm going to win this sleep cycle war. In other news, Sai and Boun(the housekeeper, Sai's wife) are invited to a wedding this Friday and they invited me to join them to see how a traditional Lao wedding is run! Can't wait! Pai Gawn!

Dawn

P.S. Lao people, usually, only eat dog meat on special occasions..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb