The fun of feeling like i have had the living crap kicked out of me!!


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
August 28th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I sit here, battered,ruised, sore, cut and unable to fully lift my arms above my shoulders - Have i been in a fight?? Have i been in a car/bus crash?? Did i fall down a drain?? ... Nope none of those things - I went tubing in Laos!! Whats is tubing, it is sitting in an inflatable ring, floating down a river from bar to bar (Best pub crawl EVER by the way - Beats the crap out of walking!!) and at each bar they have zip lines and rope swings atleast 20 feet in the air in to the deep, murky, fast flowing water below ... OH MY GOD What fun, it got drunk, top up my tan, in a group of 9 people (all the girls were pretty hot as well which is always a bonus)! But why am i injured, well it is a case of pure and simple showing off going wrong. I tried a flip from a jumping point 25 feet above the water and did a MASSIVE belly flop, i knew it was bad because Sam came to help me out of the water while the others instead of just laughing all asked me if i was alright ... I was until i wipe out 2 times spectacually. My hands were wet on the rope swings and after a few beers i lost concentration. I fell off one rope swing but was able to land OK because couple feel my fingers slipping before i fell but the second time, within 2 seconds of starting the swing (if that) my fingers worked loose, and i went face and chest first into the water 20 feet below totally wiping myself out. So much so that my vision was blurrd for a few seconds and i was gasping for air making a sound similar to a mating Elk "HURRRR HURRRR HURRRR" just could not breath ... BLoody hell it was fun - Think i am going to do it all over again tomorrow!! The injuries i sustained are a bruise running from the bottom of my right left leg to the top, an aching chest so struggle to sit up, laugh or cough, a finger on my left hand is currently purple and a few bruises on my arms - WHAT A BLOODY GOOD DAY THOUGH!!

So currently in Laos, bloody expensive compared to Vietnam but also the most beautiful scenic country in the entire world - FACT!! I climbed one mountain and sat at the top for over an hour by myself just looking at the 360' view of the town and other mountains. In fact it was so pretty that i took the group of people i have been hanging around with there the other day!!

Off to Thailand soon, maybe Saturday, was planning on going to Cambodia but hey, this is travelling and i have no rules, time tables or bosses to answer to so can do what i want and i want to change my plans and i have!! Plan one day by one day - No other way to lead your life!!

Spent 2 days in a village here which is only accessable by a 2 hour boat ride and they only get electricity 4 hours a day, 6pm -10pm so when the lights go out there is nothing to do but sleep an listen to the tropical rain pour down - Loved it!!

Amazingly i have only been travelling for 2 and half months so far, currently struggling for reasons to come home - Who knows i might not but guess i have another 9 and a half months to go, thats right 9 and a half months of travel WOO-A-HOO!!

So to sum up - MY life is frigging AWESOME right now!!

Bye bye suckers LOL

Advertisement



31st August 2008

I have nothing to say to you now. in fact i am so sick with jealously i mY stop talking to you altogether!! I'm going to print off your blog and sell it as a book to all the girls in Nottingham - is that bigging you up enough..... maybe i could tell them that you are actually taller than 5ft 8!! miss you heaps. feels like you've been gone 9 months not 9 more to go :( xxxxx

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb