UdomXai


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Muang Xai
January 2nd 2008
Published: January 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday January, 1st 2008

At 4 AM, the monks are waking up at the sound of the gong. At 6 AM, I woke up again at the sound of the monks chanting on their way to collect alms. Half asleep, I want to go and see what happens but as the guest house's door is locked, I comfortably get back to my bed.

I've decided to move away from Luang Prabang and come back when prices has dropped back to normal. I'm heading to Udomxai. The small bus goes on small, sometimes bumpy mountain road and the landscape is once again amazing. On the bus are mainly locals and a group of Christian Americans. They go to visit a project they have in Udomxai province and estimates needs.

At Udomxai, the weather is cloudy and very cold. I pile layers of clothes as I'm not used to cold anymore. I'm glad to find a guest house with hot shower. It's barely a luxury by this weather and is worth the extra buck.
After a good nap in the afternoon, I've dinner with a Argentinian couple who is running out of cash as ATM don't work with their card and banks are closed for New Year.

Wednesday January, 2nd 2008

There is nothing to visit in Udomxai, but my room is quite comfortable to use the computer as there is a little desk just at the right height to type. The weather is still cold but sunny once the morning mist has faded away.

I've to decide whether I'm heading west or north tomorrow. My first idea was to go north but as that part of Loas is the coldest and rainiest part, I'm wondering if it's good plan to go there in this season unless I'm craving for a dryer version of Belgian weather.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb