France?


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
July 5th 2006
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's July 5th. I guess that means yesterday was the 4th. I just realized that, so happy fourth of july. There's not much of a celebration for it over here. After my last entry, I spent one more full day in Vang Vieng. I rented a 100 cc motorbike for 24 hours for 5 dollars. They just take your money and your passport and send you on your way without a word of instruction. I spent one afternoon sitting in some restaraunt laughing with the locals at the travelers almost crashing. There must be an exceedingly high injury rate on those things. First, I took mine about 50 km away from town on the only paved highway in the country. I ended up at a sign to a cave, so I paid the parking fee, the fee for a boat across the river, the entry fee to the trail, and then I was finally way off in the Jungle. I was right up against the enormous limestone cliffs that dominate the area and it was all just so prehistoric looking. Every inch that I walked on the trail was met with some new kind of bug or reptile or alien slithering away. After making it back down and riding home, I just sat on my porch to escape the heat. I almost resigned myself to taking it easy for the rest of the day when I noticed huge, dark thunderclouds rolling in from the direction of the little dirt path that leads away from the town and into the cliffs and mountains. I promply returned to the motorbike and headed right in. I was going maybe 30 km one second in cloudy but dry weather one second, and the next I was in the middle of the most soaking rain storm imaginable. Massive puddles soon formed all over and the dirt turned to mud. Exactly what I was hoping for. I took that little bike through hell and back. I don't know how it made it. Several times an innocent looking puddle would end up being a 2 foot deep rut. I tipped over in pools of water several times, but to no injury. I ended up cracking the plastic pretty good, but luckily it went unnoticed when I returned the bike.

The next morning I bought a ticket for the "VIP" bus to Luang Prabang. The VIP bus was really a van with bench seats and NO AC that was packed with sweaty guys (and one poor girl) for a 7 hour drive. Not a lot of fun. Last night we made it to Luang Prabang. I met some cool people on the van, but they were all European and therefore there whole evening revolved around the soccer game that didn't come on until 2 am last night, so I split off from them. While trying to find a good guest house, I found myself caught up in the local transportation cartel. I got on a tuk tuk and told him to take me somewhere. I was dropped off somewhere else. Someone on a motorbike asked where I was going, he told me to get on, and I was dropped off at some other random point. I considered riding the cartel all eveing just to tour the city, but eventually just picked a place. Luang Prabang was one of the last French Colonial towns, and the influence is everywhere. It's such a unique little city, right on the banks of the massive Mekong River. I can't stop eating. Mango smoothies are $.40. I bought an entire pineapple today and ate it in 20 minutes. I can"t walk down the street without my arms becoming full with pastries and fruit. I'm already starting to feel the beach calling me, though. I will probably take the two day boat trip down the river to Thailand in the morning, which I have mixed feelings about. It will probably be several days before I can update again!

This computer apparantly can't handle my pictures. It's actually probably part of a local synicate of internet cafes who intentionally make pictues load slowly to rack up the bill...

Advertisement



5th July 2006

mmmkay..
The 4th here in the US wasn't the same without you. Your passion for fire and explosives was missed. Hey, I got the potato gun/launcher to work with hair spray... no one was injured. You are missed!!! but your room dowstairs (and half the garage) is already occupied (with a non-paying tenant). Have a great time in a van down by the river... Keep writing and posting pictures (if possible)
6th July 2006

We've sent you a couple of email messages. Have you gotten them? Are you checking your email or just the blog comments? Please let us know. Be careful!
7th July 2006

Thanks for living vicariously for the rest of us
Hey Steve, this is better than reading National Geographic. Maybe you should make a living as a travel writer; you're a natural. Guess the trick is finding someone to pay you to do it. Small detail, and one that you could no doubt work out. I'm in awe of your nerve, which you certainly didn't inherit from me. Happy Trails.
7th July 2006

It's too bad that computer couldn't handle your photos-- sounds like an incredibly beautiful and dramatic area. I've been reading about it in the guide book. Hope your river journey is wonderful and safe. Sure miss being able to hear your voice!
8th July 2006

In awe and envy
Hey, I am a desk jockey in Denver that has been reading your blog since you left. My friends and I are going to Laos, Cambodia and Thailand in May of '07. I really enjoy your blog and hope your trip goes well and is all you dreamed it'd be. My friends and I are living vicariously through your trip now. Thanks!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb