The adventure begins...at SFO airport


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
May 25th 2011
Published: May 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

All was going well. Made it to Amtrak on time thanks to Preston, jumped on BART and hit the airport. Everything was going fine until we went through security. It is not a good idea to have two cans of thick liquid wrapped in foil and an alarm clock in a backpack. I was pulled by TSA and they swabbed my pack for explosives. When that came out clear, the TSA agent asked me what was in the cans-I turned bright red and said I was trying to stick to my diet-SlimFast shakes. Not even the real SlimFast-the generic brand from Safeway. I had completely forgotten I had thrown the cans in my pack. Steven walked away. The TSA agent laughed and said I didn't need to be on a diet. Steven now calls me the "Fake SlimFast Bomber".

Arrived in Seoul for a transfer and decided to have some dinner. I ordered a California roll. The plate came and it looked so good-and I was really hungry, mostly because I didn't get to drink my shakes. I took a big bite and the white sauce was mayonnaise. Now right about now Jill and Lisa are laughing-at me, not with me. Yuck. I took a few more bites and it was all I could do. Steven took a bite-guess he doesn't like mayonnaise on his sushi either.

Eighteen hours later we arrive in Hanoi with a ten hour layover. Took a taxi to a little guest house to get a shower and a bit of sleep. The bed was a thin layer of plastic over plywood. But it was better than the seat on the plane and more private than a bench in the airport. Got up, grabbed a taxi, and landed in Luang Prabang this morning.

Getting acclimated-pretty hot and humid. Friendly people, and a nice little guest house run by teenagers.

Suzie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb