A Conflict of Interest...


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
March 8th 2014
Published: April 29th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Today, I was faced with a decision that was a conflict of interest between my morals and my compassion. I negotiated with a Tuk Tuk driver for a set price. He then asked me to not tell the other passengers (a family of five) in the Tuk Tuk how much I was paying because "Supposedly they are paying more." Pretty much he asked me to cover his hustle. But to think of it, could I be the one that was being hustled? Who knows. Do I disrupt the flow of tourism? Or mind my own business. All I know is that the effects of tourism is bringing out the worst in people. In the end I told the family that I'd already paid and advised them to re-negotiate.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb