Last minute comments about Laos!


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Ban Houayxay
August 20th 2006
Published: August 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okay so now that we've left Laos I can tell you something scary! We got on our first local bus....and I spotted a man with an AK47 gun....pretty big gun..poking out the bottom of his shirt!! Looked a little seedy and wouldn't sit down and was standing next to us.....nobody told us that they were working for our protection and not out to kill us!! We were a little stunned by all of it and not knowing any better about the situation calmly went to the back of the bus to sit with these two boys also travelling and alerted them of the gunman...stuffed our money down our bras and had a couple of plans worked out in case of anything! But it turns out they are bus officers because a few years back driving through remote places between cities was quite dangerous and highjackings happened alot.....so now they have armoured guys on the buses!! People should really tell you that before you plan your death via scary gun man driving through the mountains in Laos!! We were much more relaxed our second time around!

And I forgot to mention the bear story from the jungle. If your not interested you don't have to read it but it's funny!

On the last day we stopped at the bathrooms in the jungle outside from the kitchen...and the bear had a bell around its neck...we're both going pee with no locks on the door....and we hear the bell coming....then shawna yells for help....I asked if there was a bear in her bathroom and she said yes....I said oh shit! So i'm from my stall yelling 'here...here little bear' Calling for the bear to come to me..and then throwing things at it to distract it from biting shawna's arm.....in my head after....why on earth was i calling a black bear to come to my unlocked bathroom!! crazy!! so my first plan didn't work....I had to grab a small stick...and it was on its hind legs standing right next to shawna....so I started poking it....'here' 'here' .....like i was calling a little kitten or something.......tried to stuff the stick in its mouth because it was nibbling at shawna.....got it in and told shawna to go...she got by and then i realized i was standing poking a bear with a stick by myself.....my stick snapped....and i'm standing empty handed next to a bear...ahhh.....so i backed away and walked very fast to saftey!! I'm a hero!! hahahahah!! (it was only a cub but they are still scary and quite strong!)

One more thing........
In case of a snake bite the saftey book said a couple of things....the guides said to cut off the bitten limb or take a good chunk of it out (no thanks!) OR you could eat a handful of salt and roll around in a red ant patch (no thanks!) OR find the snake and watch to see if it has rabbies or to know what kind it was (but why would I go searching for the snake that just tried to kill me) so no thanks! So I still don't know what to do when your really removed from civilization and you get bitten by a venomous snake!?!?!?!?


Okay i'll stop now! Have a nice day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb