Chiang Mai - Huay Xai (Laos


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Ban Houayxay
May 13th 2007
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up at 7:30 and left the guest house at 8:00 with Venetia and Chressie. It was going to be a day full of travel as we tried to make our way towards the Laos boarder.

Took a Tuktuk to the coach station. On arrival we were informaed that the earliest bus to Chiang Rai and cheapest was a goverment bus with no air con, in an hour and a half time (4hrs). Not wanting to hang around for an air con bus (3hr wait) and pay 4 times the price for a VIP, we went goverment. It wasnt that hot today. Relatively cool and cloudy. While I was trying to pay the lady at the kiosk for some reason stood up to attention and refused to take my money. I kept saying "heres the money for my ticket", but she just stood there while this incredibly load music drowned out my words. Chressie then pointed out that I should probably be standing to attention too, as the national anthem was now in full swing and the entire population of the bus terminal (behind me) had stopped doing whatever it was they were doing and were now stood perfectly still and in silence. Finally it finished and now feeling a little like a twit got my ticket.

The bus to chiang Rai wasnt all that bad but quite cramped. It contained small seats with three down one side and two down the other separated by a narrow walkway. It was also completely full. Considering it was Venetias idea I'll blame her if I end up with DVT.

Arrived in Chang Rai which looked nothing special and jumped on a really rickety old bus for 2 hours to Chiang Khong and the boarder. Got there on time again and feeling a little crippled from the bumpy ride.

The boarder aparently closed at 5:00 and it was now 4:30. The Tuk Tuk driver at the stop assured us that we could still make it. We jumped on and stopped only temperarely so I could get some photos done for my Lao visa.
We arrive at the Immigration office which turned out to be possibly the coolist immigration office this traveler has ever been to. It was to take a short while to process the visas so the gave us some free internet time. Then they lent myself and Venetia a scooter and Bicycle to get to the ATM down the road. Venetia being quite competetive shot of on her Bicycle while the oficer was starting up my scooter. I eventualy caught up with her but my scooter was making a heck of a lot of noise and everyone down the street was looking at me. As we arrived at the bank I realised that the bike had more then one gear and id been screaming down the main road with it stuck in 1st! After getting some money out and after getting one of the locals to help me start up my scooter we made our way back to immigration and collected our visas.

We got a lift down to passport control and the boat yard. The passport officer didnt take much notice of me while he gave Chressie the cheesiest grin. Finally he was to become amused when Venetia fell flat on her arse due to the 19kg wait of her backpack. Punishment for three nights worth of Chiang Mai Night Markets.

We got the small boat across the Mekong river and we arrived in Laos.

We cleared passport control and quickley found the BAP guest house.

After getting ready and booking some boat tickets for our 2 day journey to Luang Prabang we went to get a bite to eat. After rice and noodles for 9 days I fell of the wagon and had possibly the nicest pizza in ages toped off with some 'beer Lao'.

Later grabbed some supplies then got an early night sleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb