One Stop Shop


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Savannakhet
August 12th 2012
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.4958, 105.756

After a sleeper bus ride from Vang Vieng through some beautiful landscapes (when we had daylight) and hellish rain, we arrived in this border town with Vietnam at 5am. After a long, much needed snooze in a proper bed, I decided to take myself out for a wander to see what was about, as Lonely Planet seem to only have 3 things on the book, so to speak. I was directed by the lady with broken English at the hotel, to turn right to the river! I hoped this was the right way, but with blind trust, off i tottered, brolly in hand. I went from a mud track, to a gravel track, to a road where i spotted a sign to the river.... hurrah! As i went, i passed the Wat from LP, and went to have a look-see. It was a huge place, with lots of intricate buildings, towers and statues. It was then a stroll along the waterfront, where there were various food stalls, with uninterested looking women sat slouched in wooden chairs, almost willing you to walk past so they didnt have to arise from their perches. As i wandered, i looked for the friendship cafe, which according to the guidebook served the best coffee in town, and all things bad for the waistline..... I couldn't find it! I was devastated!! In my wanderings however, i did found some stunning flowers, a catholic church, an eco tourism centre and a vietnamese temple!! This is one mixed up town! I am not sat, catching up on my blog, with a can of coke and beef rice in the sun! Vietnam tomorrow.... Laos it has been to short, but i will be back!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb