Huay Xai (16-18 Sep 13)


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » North » Luang Namtha
September 17th 2013
Published: September 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

First Glimpses of LaosFirst Glimpses of LaosFirst Glimpses of Laos

It's just a few hundred metres and barely a few minutes by long-tail boat across the Mekhong, from the Thai border-town of Chiang Khong to its Laos counterpart of Huay Xai.
With the last grains of sand in the hour-glass of my Thai tourist visa rapidly trickling away, I scurried to the Thai border and bade farewell to the country that has been my second home (yet again) for the past few months. As I approached the boat landing for the short long-tail boat ride across the Mekong River, I could already see Thailand's friendly neighbour beckoning warmly in the near distance. And barely two minutes (and THB40) later, I was there! Immigration at both Thai and Laos ends were a breeze, with nary a queue and friendly officers, which really put my tiring visa run experiences at the Cambodian border at Poi Pet in stark contrast.

And so, after getting off the boat at the Laos end, clearing immigration and walking up a short slope, there I was, in the border town of Huay Xai. Earlier in my backpacking days I probably would've looked for the next available bus to take me straight to my next destination, as Huay Xai isn't exactly a particularly noteworthy Laotian town. But I found a comfortable guesthouse at a reasonable price, and ended up staying two nights, languidly exploring at a snail's pace what
Wat ChomkaoWat ChomkaoWat Chomkao

And its friendly novices, game for a tourist's photo.
is essentially a one (or two or three) street town built around transitters between the two borders. There is, after all, something to be said about travelling slower and seeing more.

Despite the significant numbers of backpackers that do pass through this town, the absence of loud-touting tuk-tuk drivers and the like is particularly notable. I guess that's the more laid-back manner characteristic of Laotians speaking, and it's certainly a welcome relief. Thankfully this aspect of the country that I remember liking from my last visit almost a year ago hasn't changed, and I'll be hoping it'll be the same for the rest of the short week of so that I'll be here.

Stayed at Theevasinh Hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Bar HowBar How
Bar How

Yes, this was one of the lovely restaurants in an otherwise very unassuming and quiet border town. Had dinner here both nights.


Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb