I love talking to people!


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » North » Luang Namtha
September 22nd 2007
Published: October 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Market WomenMarket WomenMarket Women

These are the women at the Muang Sing Market.
I seem to adjust to people I talk to.
"Xishuangbanna is a great place"
"What do you mean by great place?"
I want to say whatever you think a great place is, that's what it is, but I just describe the kind of place he wants to hear to him. I picked that place simply because I know he will like it. I love watching people smile, love listening to people laugh and love when others are happy.

I just talked with a bunch of Europeans (German, English and Belgium) about why they're here, what they're doing here, how did they come here, it's the same conversation every time but it's new and interesting every single time. It's truly amazing to discover these things about people and what they think of the world, it's life changing to hear really, even if you may forget it soon. Today an English man said travelling is an addiction. After you start travelling if you go back home for a long time you just find yourself waiting for the next time you can go travel. Just now there was a Kiwi (person from New Zealand) who told me if you take children travelling too
Muang Sing MarketMuang Sing MarketMuang Sing Market

This is a picture as I'm just entering the market.
young they don't remember it. I said that that may be true but it helps to change who they are and their world view later on so I understand its importance.

Today was my first day driving a motorcycle. First I went to eat breakfast at the Coffee House Restaurant where there is a Thai boss who was very interesting to listen to. They have really great food too. After I got taught some about how to ride the motorcycle I went to the gas station to get some gas and then go to look for the waterfalls. Unfortunately as the waterfalls were about a 10 minute walk from the gas station and I took a 15 minute motorcycle ride before I started wondering where they were I obviously missed them. The landscape was gorgeous although I didn't meet nearly as many people, although I went much further. Unfortunately I got scared trying to look for another gas station (which I never did find). I stopped and asked a bunch of people and in the end was pointed in the direction of a very hilly dirt road (my first) and then when the boys I ran into finally looked
Woman selling WaresWoman selling WaresWoman selling Wares

This is a Lao woman selling her bracelets and garlic to the foreigners (taking the picture).
at my tank they saw I had tons and started laughing at me. So seeing that I was burning and starving I flew (at 50km/hour) back to Nam Tha and sat to eat and talk to people and do internet till 4pm when I decided to go to the stupa here. I still needed to ask a few people how to get there because the road isn't that well marked and it didn't look like the path in the book but fortunately they understood me. When I got to the base of the stupa there were many kids there who got an absolute hoot out of me taking pictures of them and then showing them. They made me laugh and were maybe the best part of the trip. I love the people here, they're so so carefree and happy no matter the outcome. Tonight we went to the market and one of the Germans I had met wore a big traditional jacket but she didn't buy it. When we walked away I looked back to see the woman still smiling, even though we hadn't bought it. Those are the joys in life.

I really got the shit burned out of my neck and lower arms today so I might be hurting later but I had a lot of fun and feel really relaxed now. That's what makes it all worthwhile.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb