Arashiyama under sun and rain


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
April 4th 2014
Published: September 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 35.01, 135.75

Arashiyama 嵐山 = Storm mountain. It's a district west of Kyoto. I really like this part of town even if it's a bit far off and it takes about 45min by bus to get there from the city centre. Today, the weather is very unstable. Rain and sun alternate and the wind blows.

In the end, this weather made up for very dramatic sceneries. The mountain is full of blooming cherry trees that make clear white patches among the other trees. This landscape was very splendid when the sun would shine on it especially with dark grey clouds for background. The river running through Arashiyama is crossed by Togetsukyo Bridge. The wooden bridge is over 400 years old and when I arrived there, in the rain, it was roamed by a wave of colourful umbrellas. I managed to find a tree on the bank underneath where I could take shelter to take pictures and not get too wet. During a short spell of sun, I crossed the river to get some nice shots. When the rain came back I took refuge in some shops. I went back to the shop where I had bought fans last time. I was thinking not to buy anything unless I found one I really liked. Well, I did found one.

I got my lunch in a small bakery in a side street. I bought a sandwich and 2 weird cakes for dessert. They were all tasty. After that I went to Tenryu-ji temple. I visited it already but decided to go back as it is a nice place (both inside and the garden). I managed to be inside during the rain and in the garden when the sun was out. Good timing.

I took the exit at the back of the garden to go to the bamboo grove at the flank of the mountain. The sound was very impressive with such a strong wind, the leaves do 'sshhhroroooooo' and the bamboo stick do ‘clack clack' against each other's.

When the rain came again a jumped in the bus back to Kyoto. I stopped on the main street to go to the shopping arcade. They have a food market there. It is kind of ‘for tourist' but you can sample lots of different pickled vegetable, seasoned fish, biscuits and so on. The arcade also has manga stores, music stores and a cinema. I walked into the cinema, at the beginning I was just planning to use the bathroom but I ended up looking what was showing and the poster for what was coming out. Rurouni Kenshi part 2 will be out August 8th. I wonder if they will be showing it in Geneva (even in NYC it was not easy to see it…😉.

Tonight, I met with Elfi in Mutayama park, next to the weeping cherry tree. I had to wait a little while but I got entertained by people wanting to take their picture in front of that peculiar tree. The rain started again soon after she arrived. So we took refuge in a restaurant.

Arashiyama嵐山 = tempête montagne. C'est un quartier à l'ouest de Kyoto. C'est un peu loin du centre ville, environ 45min en bus, mais j'aime beaucoup l'endroit. Aujourd'hui le temps est plutôt instable. Le soleil et la pluie ne cessent de se remplacer.

Au final, ce temps rend le paysage encore plus spectaculaire. La montagne regorge de cerisiers en fleur qui font des tâches blanches au milieu des autres arbres. Quand la montagne éclairée par les rares rayons de soleil se détache sur le gris sombre du ciel, le rendu est vraiment
splendide. La rivière qui passe à Arashiyama est traversée par un vieux pont en bois. Quand je suis arrivée, il pleuvait. Alors je me suis abritée sous un arbre le long de la berge et j'ai contemplé le défilé de parapluies multicolores qui passaient sur le pont. Profitant d'une éclaircie, j'ai traversé le pont pour prendre quelques jolies photos et dès que la pluie est revenue je me suis réfugiée dans les magasins de souvenirs. Je suis retournée dans celui où j'ai acheté des éventails il y a 3 ans. Je m'étais dit que je n'achèterai rien sauf si j'en voyais un qui me plaisait vraiment. Bon et bien j'en ai trouvé un…

A midi je me suis achetée un sandwich et deux petits gâteaux dans une petite boulangerie. Une fois régalée, je suis allée revisiter le Tenkyu-ji. Ce temple est sympa et le jardin est agréable. J'ai réussi à être à l'intérieur quand il a plu et dehors avec le soleil. Bien joué. Je suis sortie par la sortie au fond du jardin et j'ai marché jusqu'à la forêt de bambous. Le son du vent dans les bambous était impressionnant, presque inquiétant. Les feuilles font ‘sshhhroroooooo' et les tiges
qui s'entrechoquent font ‘clack clack'. Et puis ils ploient sacrément, je me demande où se trouve le point de rupture.

Quand il s'est remis à pleuvoir, j'ai sauté dans le bus pour retourner en ville. Je suis descendue à l'arcade commerciale de la grande rue. Il y a un marché, un peu pour les touristes mais on peut goûter plein de légumes en saumure, de poissons en sauces et autres pâtisseries. Sous les arcades, il y a aussi des magasins de musiques, de mangas et un cinéma. Je suis rentrée dans le ciné avec intention première d'aller aux toilettes et puis finalement j'y ai passé du temps à regarder les affiches et les sorties à venir. Le second volet de Rurouni Kenshi sort le 8 Août, je me demande s'il sera diffusé en Suisse (déjà que j'ai galéré à voir le 1 à NY).

Ce soir, j'ai retrouvé Elfi au parc Murayama, à côté du cerisier pleureur. J'ai dû attendre un petit moment, mais ici les passants semblent tous vouloir se prendre en photo avec cet arbre si particulier, donc je ne me suis pas ennuyée. Il s'est remis à pleuvoir peu après l'arrivée d'Elfi, du coup on s'est réfugié
dans un resto.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb