The Season of Colors


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
November 16th 2009
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

November marks three months since my arrival in Japan. At the same time, splendid colored leaves mark the gradual change of seasons. I'm aware that my mood also transforms with the change of nature, from excitement of summer to contentment of fall.

Almost everyday when I leave school my heart would smile knowing that I'm earning a full-time salary and I'm nowhere near the rat race of our society! Interaction with my students is probably the most divine part of my job and the dearest memories I hold after a full day of work. As I get to know them better they also feel more comfortable talking to me. The kids really crack me up everyday with their immature cuteness, unexpected sense of humor, etc. Love teaching at Senior Highs.

At the mid-year Osaka JET seminar I attended the Ikebana(flower arrangement) workshop. With branches, flowers and leaves we created new forms that were shaped by our thoughts and ideas at the very moment, in another word, the spirits of the new forms were driven by the will of our imaginations. I am especially fond of flower buds, for within the bud is the energy of life and the readiness to bloom when the environment is right. I often see my kids as flower buds, with proper cares and attentions they will transform to be unique individuals, bend with the winds, shine under the sun.

Here in Japan, teachers are not only students' educators, mentors, they sometimes fill the place of their parents. Especially when all the adults are working until late everyday. I usually see my students once a week during class, I try to talk to them as often as possible during lunch time and after school. I want not at all to be a mother-figure but a friend of theirs. I have students shared their family problems and joked about private stuffs with me. Those moments were precious.

There was a lot more that happened after my last entry. For instance while roaming around Shinsaibashi met some firefighters and went drinking together, a friend's ex-boyfriend's odd visit, roomies reunion etc. I'll spare you the details on that part.

November 7th my friends and I went to Dojo in Hyogo for a hike, November 15th we went to Engyoji Temple on Mt. Shosha in Himeji for another great day of hiking. The movie "The Last Samurai" was shot around this area. The pictures are quite self-explanatory.

November is without question the month of hiking and walking tours for red leaves viewing in Japan. Will do another one in Kyoto soon.

(Click on page 2 and 3 for more photos)






Additional photos below
Photos: 54, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Osaka ShinsaibashiOsaka Shinsaibashi
Osaka Shinsaibashi

Patisserie Miyamoto colorful maruta....Oh sooo good.
SpiderSpider
Spider

Nov 15th
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Nov 15th


Tot: 0.416s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1012s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb