Fire Festival


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
October 25th 2004
Published: October 25th 2004
Edit Blog Post

This festival, one of the three main ones in Kyoto, was rather interesting. However, I think that the Japanese people enjoyed it quite a bit more than I did. I only stayed for the beginning. I think that it's more enjoyable for Japanese people, in part, because their culture is related to the festival. I couldn't figure out what was so exciting about carrying torches, personally. They were chanting what sounded to me like "sai reyo, sai ryo," and I don't know what that means. It was still rather enjoyable. I went to a temple beforehand and, of course, took some pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement


TorchTorch
Torch

Prepare to be burned.

StepsSteps
Steps

There are so many stairs in this country. At first it was funny...
Temple AreaTemple Area
Temple Area

The leaves are changing color.


Crowds GatheringCrowds Gathering
Crowds Gathering

There were about 12,000 people who attended the festival that night.



25th October 2004

Stairs
"there are so many stairs in this country, at first it was funny..." hahah Nice! Although I think the stairs are what attributed to me losing basically 1 pound per day during my 10 day visit.
28th October 2004

Phong wrote this!
I was too lazy to figure out where to put my name. Hey I'm stealing one of your pics of Japan, not sure which one yet. Later!
4th November 2004

Alvin! I just wanted to let you know that my very good friend Mara Ghadimi is ALSO at Kansai Gaidai this semester! I told her about you , so she's gonna try to look you up! She's from New Mexico also and is also living with a host family...anyway, hope you guys can meet maybe. Take care! And it was nice to "talk" to you last night!
4th November 2004

Alvin! I just wanted to let you know that my very good friend Mara Ghadimi is ALSO at Kansai Gaidai this semester! I told her about you , so she's gonna try to look you up! She's from New Mexico also and is also living with a host family...anyway, hope you guys can meet maybe. Take care! And it was nice to "talk" to you last night!
15th January 2005

@kansai2
dude.. nice journal. Man, I will move intp hirakata-shi the 22nd of January and before that hang out in Osaka.. this will be my first semester at kansai.. I'll apreciate if we could get in contact or something.. Thanks bro. OJ www.personal.psu.edu/ojb109 oscarjb@psu.edu - oj

Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb