Huge Buildings, Old Areas with Cats and Totally Geeking Out


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
September 28th 2016
Published: September 28th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The day started chilled as we weren't expecting Toyo to arrive until 10am, but she emailed at 9am saying she was already here - good job I'd showered! We met at Kaminarimon Gate which was walking distance from our ryokan and a total tourist magnet. Still, it was nice to wander down the market stalls selling tourist tat until we ended up at Senso-ji Temple where wishes were made as coins were thrown.

Next we took a cruise down the Sumida River to Hama-rikyu Gardens. On the way we saw the weird wiggly golden thing that is on the side of the Asahi Building, a ton of skyscrapers and much washing. I have a thing about taking photos of washing.... It's because in England, hanging out your washing in your window or balcony when you live in a city centre is almost unheard of. Go to the middle of London, Manchester or Birmingham, I promise that you will not see washing in the central areas. But other countries aren't bothered - and quite rightly so - but it is still amusing to me to see it right in the middle of a capital city. And so I photograph washing and Glyn laughs at this.

Another thing of note was that there were huge sandbags by the river, or I presume they were filled with sand. According to Toyo, an earthquake in Japan is long overdue and so they are preparing. How sandbags along the river will help, I do not know, but they are getting ready. So don't worry!

Hama-rikyu Gardens were very peaceful against the backdrop of high rise buildings. Full of squawking crows that weighed down the trees plus lots of sparrows - apparently it's wonderful in summer but I was happy with it as it was. Toyo was picking fungi and asking us if it as OK to eat.... er I was not sure so I was glad she put them back down. After a bit of our usual getting lost (we still manage this even with a Japanese friend guiding us) we made our way to Ginza.

Ginza is full of massive buildings and massive crossings including Ginza Ton-chrome crossing which is one of the busiest in the world. It is a wealthy shopping area with expensive department stores that have great aircon. I spotted the Sony / Nissan Store and we visited this as I'd heard it was a showroom for their latest tech. And wow! The biggest TV screens known to humans yet the picture was so crisp that pimples and blackheads were clearly visible. I tried out headphones that cost £100s and they did sound nice and clear. There was also the latest PlayStation VR headset, but you needed reservations to have a go on that. What also blew my mind was a new camcorder that was as small as a GoPro - it was attached to a bouncing board as was another standard camera. Both cameras were connected to a screen, the standard camera was all full of camera shake and unwatchable whereas the new Sony camera was almost completely steady. Brilliant if ever you are filming on a boat! Even the toilets at Sony were amazing - readers of my pervious blogs will know that I'm already impressed with Japanese bidet loos, but OMG, the loo in Sony left me feeling good for at least an hour afterwards. How is this so? I know you won't ask so I will explain: it is very hot and muggy in Tokyo and that loo left me feeling refreshed in an important place for some time.

Moving on, we went to Yanaka District, an area that survived the 1923 earthquake plus the bombing of WW2 and as a result preserves the feeling of old Tokyo with low buildings and narrow streets. The area we walked down was pedestrianised and Toyo found me some cats!! She carries cat treats with her always and so we were popular. We found a tiny cafe to eat at, Toyo explained my veggieness and so I got given the best veggie sushi, I was very happy. The cafe was so small that Toyo was propped against the sliding toilet door, but the food was that good, no one cared. Afterwards we found a shop that sold solar-powered nodding ninjas and cats, so a great place all in all. Also Toyo started eating the trees, and why not?

A wander around Yanaka Cemetery proved fruitful in finding more cats although one white one was petty antisocial despite all the treats on offer. The cemetery is very large but within seconds of stepping into it, I became the centre of a bug swarm. Oh my legs got so itchy and just now, after my previous bites had only just started to heal. Gah!! But cats!! But mosquitos!! But cats!! Oh it was hard to choose. I did meet some nice cats as Glyn made a quick exit and Toyo gave me something to put on my legs, but was it to repel the bugs or soothe the bites? I'll never know. A silver tabby appeared and it was so friendly, so I had to go back one last time.

At Nippori Station, Toyo unexpectedly said goodbye. It was after 4pm and it is a couple of hours back to her home, but still I didn't realise that she was going already. I think she wanted a quick goodbye and it was sad to see her go but hopefully she can visit us sometime in England - or maybe halfway between us and Japan. A lovely lady who went out of her way for us without a doubt.

So Glyn and I had to decide what to do for ourselves, maybe somewhere really built up where there were no bugs? Glyn suggested Akihabara Electronics District, a geek heaven that is the home of huge games shops plus tiny bazaars selling all sorts of electronic stuff. We stepped into a Sega place that was full of the kind of grab machines I associate with British seaside resorts. On upper floors, people were playing a variety of complicated games that would take me hours to explain... It was all pretty mad, the only downside being huge and typical cartoons of young girls' faces attached to exaggerated and extremely sexualised grown women's bodies - the norm but extremely dodgy - a paedophile dream come true, unless said paedo likes boys - if that's the case, there was nothing for them.

We went to a few shops, ogling all the weird and wonderful electrical stuff. In one shop we kept going up and up because we couldn't find a way out until finally at the top was a lift to the ground. We did buy a few souvenirs here as it was tax free upon showing a passport. We were getting tired but all the places seemed to be for food and not just a drink until we found a food court on the 6th floor of some big building. This is how we ended up in an English pub where the smokers got the comfy inner seats and the rest of us got the stools out in the shopping precinct. Glyn decided to try some roast beef and it certainly was not English style - thankfully! I was happy with my over priced but wonderfully cold Kirin beer.

We then took a train to Ueno Station where Glyn was lured across a street to bright lights. I couldn't say where we were exactly but we found a novelty shop that sold mini cast iron frying pans in the shape of guitars - tempting, but a bit too expensive. The whole area was full of crap that we didn't need but almost certainly wanted, plus pachinko places full of gamblers despite gambling being illegal.

We wandered on, hoping that we were getting closer to our hotel. Glyn tried to buy some milk to drink but ended up with yoghurt and upon trying to shove it in a recycling bin, got covered in it. So as a result, he needed to clean up and when we saw a restaurant with cheap beer, it was a no brainer. The restaurant turned up to be Indian and we both had a little food. I enjoyed the cheap beer and Glyn got lassi, so it was all good, plus the chefs kept coming out and smiling at us. The only other patrons were a bunch of Japanese ladies out on the lash whilst their other halves played pachinko. Glyn and I amused ourselves watching the widescreen telly showing Japanese folk with basin haircuts and dinosaurs. I have no idea what was going on, but I was having a good time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.355s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 26; qc: 98; dbt: 0.1458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb